Sydney University bowlers shared the spoils as the Students collected first innings points over Parramatta at Old Kings Oval on Saturday.

Having declared at 8-340 on the back of Stuart Clark’s maiden century, late on day one, Sydney University rolled Parramatta for 161 thanks to the efforts of Michael Culkoff (3-23), Tim Ley (2-20), Will Somerville (2-23) and Scott Henry (2-25).

The win elevated Sydney University, the defending Belvidere Cup holders, to fifth on the competition ladder after seven rounds. UNSW lead the way on 32 points, with Manly-Warringah (29), North Sydney (26), Sutherland (25), Sydney University (24) and Gordon (22) making up the top six.

The win also helped the Students to outright second place in the Club Championship. Manly-Warringah (490), Sydney University (444), Sutherland (424) and St George (394) make up the top four on the Club Championship board.

The highlight of the win was Stuart Clark’s 95-ball 101 not out, that included five sixes and eight boundaries.

The former Test seamer entered the fray with the Students struggling at 7-157 and shared a 126-run eighth-wicket stand with Will Somerville (78) and a 57-run ninth-wicket stand with Tim Ley (12 not out) as the trio posted a 183-run rearguard fightback.

But Clark, who was dropped on 99, was modest about his efforts. “I just went out there and bombed a few and ended up with 101,” he said.  “It was a flat wicket and a hot day. It was just one of those days everything went my way.”

The Somerville-Clark revival was the second of the opening day for the Students, who were 6-98 before Ben Larkin played a cameo 66 batting at No.6.

Sydney University just missed out on a second clean-sweep in the two-day matches with Fourths collecting outright points and Seconds and Fifths collecting first innings points, while Thirds lost by 12 runs.

Sydney University Firsts kept the winning formula on tap on Sunday when they accounted for Fairfield-Liverpool in a Round 3 Twenty20 competition match.

Having won the toss and batted at Sydney University No.1 Oval, the hosts posted 140 off 19.3 overs – thanks to Greg Mail’s 52 – before restricting Fairfield-Liverpool to 7-102 off their 20 overs.

The news wasn’t so good for the Poidevin-Gray side who were all out for 88 off 16.5 overs chasing Fairfield-Liverpool’s 2-135.


First Grade: Sydney University 8(dec)-340 off 89 overs (Stuart Clark 101 not out, Will Somerville 78, Ben Larkin 66, Greg Mail 28; Anthony Marr 3-105, Aaron Govorko 2-52, Daniel Jackson 2-54) v Parramatta 161 off 84.2 overs (Anthony Marr 29, Aaron Govorko 28, Sean Abbott 24, Michael Stretton 22; Michael Culkoff 3-23, Tim Ley 2-20, Will Somerville 2-23, Scott Henry 2-25) on the first innings at Old King’s Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Parramatta 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 142 (Justin Younes 52, Will Hay 26; Shane Cassel 5-18) and 2-86 (Liam Robertson 44 not out, Adam Theobald 18 not out) d Parramatta 145 (Adam Turrell 32, Luke Dempsey 23; Ben Joy 4-25, David Miller 2-10) and 82 (Trent Crittenden 21, Sean Cassel 21, Anthony Karam 20; Chris Withers 7-17, Liam Robertson 20-3) outright at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Parramatta. Batted first: Parramatta. Points: Sydney University 6, Parramatta 4.

Third Grade: Parramatta 131 (Neshen Munusamy 40, Ben Monaghan 34) and 113 (Neshen Munusamy 42, Chris Brown 24; Jim Kazaglis 4-25, Kerrod McPherson 4-31) d Sydney University 119 (Kevin Desai 32, Matthew Gregory 25; Anthony Child 5-30) and 6-70 (Jonathon New 32; Anthony Child 3-9, Jared Forbes 3-39) on the first innings at Merrylands Oval. Toss: Parramatta. Batted first: Parramatta. Points: Parramatta 6, Sydney University 0.

Fourth Grade: Sydney University 3(dec)-203 off 47 overs (Suda Sivapalan 101 not out, James Larkin 39, Henry Clark 38; Christopher Bateup 2-40) and 2-36 d Parramatta 77 (Mitchell Birtles 23; Brendan Pryke 6-17, Ash Cowan 2-17) and 100 (Mitchell Birtles 78; Charles Cull 2-33, Stuart McLean 2-37, Brendan Pyke 2-37) outright at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Parramatta. Batted first: Parramatta. Points: Sydney University 10, Parramatta 0.

Fifth Grade: Sydney University 377 off 71 overs (Steve Hobson 240, Alexander Logan 57; Fida Chowdhury 3-38, Carl Madsen 2-35) d Parramatta 293 off 58 overs (Kristian Griffiths-Jones 93, Ankur Patel 48, Rod Mackander 33, Stephen Bristow 28; Alexander Rack 5-82, Simon Cowan 2-65) on the first innings at Mona Park 3. Toss: Parramatta. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Parramatta 0.

Sydney Grade Twenty20 competition – Round 3

First Grade: Sydney University 140 off 19.3 overs (Greg Mail 52; Luke Doran 3-24) d Fairfield-Liverpool 7-102 off 20 overs (details unavailable) at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 4, Fairfield-Liverpool 0.

Poidevin-Gray: Fairfield-Liverpool 2-135 off 20 overs (Jeremy Smith 51 not out, Bradley Clark 42, Tayler Mobbs 22; Kerrod McPherson 0-17) d Sydney University 88 off 16.5 overs (Liam Robertson 20, Robert Edwards 15; Tayler Mobbs 5-10) at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Sunday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Fairfield-Liverpool. Points: Fairfield-Liverpool 4, Sydney University 0.

Metropolitan Cup – Round 4

Sydney University 9(dec)-243 (Nick Fitzgerald 73, Alex Barwick 56, Simon Cowell 42 not out; Lachlin Balzer 34; Iqbal Ahmed 3072, Thomas Bangs 2-39) d Gordon 84 (Iqbal Ahmed 30; Sameer Malia 3-5, Greg Metcalfe 3-15, Simon Cowell 3-26) on first innings at St Paul’s College Oval.

Sydney Women’s Grade competition – Round 3 (Limited overs)

First Grade: Northern District  9-250 off 50 overs (Wui-Kwan Wong 88, Katie Mack 44, Ashley James 26; Alison Parkin 2-29, Claire Hodgkinson 3-26) d Universities 167 off 37.5 overs (Georgia Redmayne 30, Rachel Haynes 26, Laura Cornford 23; 2-16, Sam Bates 2-29,Ashley James 2-21) by 83 runs at Mark Taylor Oval. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Northern District. Points: Northern District 6, Universities 0.

Third Grade: Gordon 5-132 (Ellen Hawkes 33 not out, Jessica Henry 32 not out; Phoebe Tulloch 1-12, Helen Laughton 1-14) d Universities 8-79 (Helen Laughton 20, Isabel Copeman 20 not out; Annika Clayton 2-8, Jane Warrilow 2-12, Tracy Hancock 1-3) by 53 runs at Forsyth Park 1. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Gordon. Points: Gordon 6, Universities 0.

Brewer Shield: Penrith 5-187 off 40 overs (Amy Edgar 52 retired, Holly Wilson 50 retired, Mikayla Hinkley 22; Rachel Li 4-15) d Universities 7-123 off 40 overs (Katherine Wong 53; Emma Felsch 2-19)  by 64 runs at David Phillips North Field. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Penrith. Points: Penrith 6, Universities 0.