The recently relaunched Sydney University Golf Club (SUGC) continues to thrive after a strong performance at the Australian University Games (AUG’s) and a very successful inaugural Club Championship.

A very well represented team at the 2011 AUG’s, held on the Gold Coast last month, resulted in the men’s and women’s teams finishing in fourth place.

The fledgling Sydney University Golf Club then held its inaugural Club Championship over 36 holes of stroke play on 9th/10th October. The first 18 holes were played at Cypress Lakes Golf Resort in the Hunter Valley and the next day’s 18 holes were played at St Michael’s Golf Club at Little Bay.

After 36 holes, Michael Haesslein and Will Hasko were tied on scores of 162 strokes. An exciting ‘sudden death’ play-off saw Michael Haesslein become the 2011 Sydney University Golf Champion on the 38th hole.

Chris Davey was a comfortable winner of the inaugural SUGC Championship for B and C-Grade golfers, while Krupa Toprani was the inaugural SUGC Ladies’ Champion.

For more information on the club, please click here