Premiers back on campus – with the Blues

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Premiers back on campus – with the Blues

Six members of the 1951 Sydney University Shute Shield rugby union premiership team returned to the campus on Friday night to attend the Blues Association’s 2011 Pin function.

Elliott Masters, vice-captain of the team that defeated Eastern Suburbs in the 1951 grand final, Pat Harvey, Murray Lloyd, Ian Sinclair, Dick Tooth and Col Orr were on hand to receive pins, along with a sprinkling of Blues from each successive decade – 1961, 1971, 1981, 1991 and 2001.

The function was the final of a series of annual Pin presentations that began nine years ago to keep Blues – and Golds from more recent years – connected with their alma mater and updated with what is happening with sport on campus.

Now that all Blues and Golds have received their pins, the function will be replaced with a cocktail night from 2012.

Other 1951 Blues in attendance at the Grandstand on Friday night were Michael Baume (soccer), Allan Kendall (squash and table tennis – to add to his tennis Blues from 1948, ’49 and ’50), Paul Newman (rifle) and Joan Westerholme (hockey).

The lone 1961 Blue on hand was Brian Watson (rifle), while 1971 was represented by Chris Anderson (boxing), Steve Billington (hockey), Larry Cornell (boat), Frank Curran (rugby), Alex Dey (sailing), Rob McDonald (athletics), John Milthorpe (sailing), Chris Noel (boat; also boat Gold 1990), and John Taylor (rugby; also an athletics Blue from 1970).

Andrew Clarke (hockey), Neil Peppitt (rugby), Justin Taylor (hockey) and David Webster (judo Gold) were on hand representing 1981, while 1991 was represented by Baron Alder (athletics), Jeffery Phillips (athletics Gold; also an athletics Blue from 1976) and Glenn Royall (water polo Gold; also a swimming Blue from 1977 and water polo Blue from 1982) and Mehmet Yagci (weightlifting).

Louise Trott (rowing Gold), Damien Fanning (water polo Gold and Graham Croker (rugby Gold and SU Sport Gold) were on hand representing 2001.

During the evening, master of ceremonies Rodney Tubbs (Australian Football Blue – 1967) interviewed Louise Trott, who spoke of her years in rowing and being awarded a Gold, Chris Noel on his early years in rowing and the Australian Boat Race, Jeffrey Phillips on his association with university sport, and Michael Baume on his passion for the round ball game – and life.

John McCarthy QC was on hand to present the pins.