Scoreboard is a wrap-up of the efforts of Sydney University athletes and teams through the past week, compiled by Graham Croker. Stories on some of the performances also appear in the News section.



Sydney Men’s Grade Cricket competition – Poidevin-Gray Shield final (Under 21 – Limited Overs)


Sydney University 4-89 off 25.4 overs (Liam Robertson 44, Nick Larkin 28; Jamie Cruikshank 3-13, Jay Dyball 1-10) d Hawkesbury 86 off 31.5 overs (Dale McKay 19; Liam Robertson 3-8, Rob Edwards 2-17, Nigel Cowell 2-26) by six wickets at Owen Earle Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Hawkesbury.


Sydney Men’s Grade Cricket competition – Round 15 (Final competition round – Limited overs)


First Grade: Sydney University 8-171 off 49.1 overs (Will Hay 41, Scott Henry 37, Mark Faraday 25; Max McNamara 2-22) d Penrith 9-170 off 50 overs (Matt Halse 43 not out, Tim Sutton 32, Jarryd Blake 25; Beau Casson 3-19, Tom Kierath 1-25) by one wicket at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Penrith. Batted first: Penrith. Points: Sydney University 6, Penrith 0. (Sydney University finished 1st on the competition ladder and will contest the Preliminary finals against Sydney Tigers at Sydney University No.1 Oval this weekend.)


Second Grade: Penrith 9-264 off 50 overs (Ben Netros 55, R Gibson 47, K Gordon 42, M Cummins 42; Ben Joy 3-44, Michael Culkoff 3-54) d Sydney University 8-198 (Rob Edwards 61, Ben Larkin 34, Matthew Morgan 32; K Niess 3-27, B Williams 3-31) by 66 runs at Cook Park. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Penrith. Points: Penrith 6, Sydney University 0. Sydney University finished 4th on the competition ladder and will contest the preliminary finals against Randwick-Petersham at Petersham Oval this weekend.)


Third Grade: Sydney University 245 off 42 overs (Alasdair Grant 76, Hasi Balasuriya 42 not out, Kerrod McPherson 26; T Dixon 3-59) d Penrith 144 off 39 overs (Michael Collins 44 not out; Ken Huckle 4-42, Charles McKeith 3-19) by 101 runs at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Penrith. Batted first: Penrith. Points: Sydney University 6, Penrith 0. (Sydney University finished 9th on the competition ladder.)


Fourth Grade:  Penrith 6-214 off 45 overs (Josh Betros 66 not out, Clarence Dent 44; Sam Mahabady 3-44, Ronit Lotliker 2-41) d Sydney University 160 off 41 overs (Charles Arcus 40 not out, Ash Cowan 35, Charles Cull 27; Mark Graham 3-37) by 54 runs at Rance Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Penrith. Points: Penrith 6, Sydney University 0. (Sydney University finished 13th on the competition ladder.)


Fifth Grade: Sydney University 1-106 off 21 overs (Michael Barwick 54 not out, Nick Fitzgerald 36 not out) d Penrith 105 off 42 overs (Darius Visser 2-12, Josh Lawrence 2-17, Sanjeev Patarah Singh 2-21) by nine wickets at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Penrith. Batted first: Penrith. Points: Sydney University 7, Penrith 0. (Sydney University finished 15th on the competition ladder.)





Australian Rowing Championship – West Lakes, South Australia 7-13 March


Sydney University rowers finished with eight gold, 14 silver and 11 bronze medals (3rd on the overall medal tally).



Open Men’s Coxed Four: Brodie Buckland, Cameron Girdlestone, Richard Allsop, James Goswell and Toby Lister (cox)

Open Women’s Double scull: Sally Kehoe

Open Lightweight Women’s Double Scull: Kylie Duff

Open Women’s Quad Scull: Sally Kehoe

Open Men’s Quad Scull: Nick Hudson

Under 23 Lightweight Women’s Quad Scull: Jo Wood and Marianna Doumanis

Open Lightweight Women’s Quad Scull: Kylie Duff



Open Men’s Coxless Pair: Nick Purnell and Sam Loch

Under 23 Lightweight Women’s Single Scull: Joanna Wood

Lightweight Single Scull: Ed de Carvalho

Open Women’s Double scull: Brooke Pratley

Open Men’s Coxless Four: Nick Purnell, Sam Loch, Fergus Pragnell and Matt Ryan

Under 23 Lightweight Women’s Double Scull: Joanna Wood

Under 19 Women’s Coxless Four: Jess Buttel

Under 23 Women’s Quad Scull: Ellie Winstanley

Sarah Cook, Open Women’s Quad Scull:

Under 23 Men’s Quad Scull: Ed de Carvalho, Ryan Edwards, Henry Mander and Tom McClintock

Sasha Belonogoff, Open Men’s Quad Scull:

Under 23 Women’s Eight: Michelle Battersby, Beatrix Sheldrick, Ellie Winstanley, Greta Beale, Sarah Sackville and Gen Fick

Under 23 Men’s Eight: Nick Wheatley, Tom Sacre, Sasha Belonogoff, Nick Purnell, Harry Thomson, Ryan Edwards, Ryan Barraclough, Tim Harley and Will Raven



Open Women’s Single Scull: Sally Kehoe

Open Men’s Coxless Pair: Brodie Buckland (rowing with a Melbourne University athlete)

Under 23 Men’s Coxless Four: Nick Wheatley, Hamish Playfair, Harry Thomson and Tim Harley

Open Women’s Double scull: Sarah Cook

Open Men’s Coxless Four: Francis Hegerty (rowing with three other MUBC rowers)

Open Women’s Quad Scull: Brooke Pratley



Water Polo


Australian Men’s Water Polo League – Rounds 8 and 9


Sydney University Lions 7 drew with KFC Queensland Breakers 7 at Sydney University Sports and Fitness Centre (Scorers unavailable).


Sydney University Lions 10 (Thomas Whalan 3, Scott Nicholson 2, James Young 2, Trent Franklin, Clayton Whittaker, Craig Hammond goals) d Cronulla Sharks 5 (Clint McLaughlin 2, Chris Batty, Patrick Falson, Benjamin Matthews) at Sutherland.


Australian Women’s Water Polo League – Rounds 8 and 9


KFC Queensland Breakers 15 (Sophie Smith 4, Bronwen Knox 3, Naomi McCarthy 2, Ellie Bowden 2, Alex Brindley, Gemma Hadley, Kate Bertwhistle, Maggie Morrison) d Sydney University Lions 6 (Gabby Wikman 2, Alicia Brightwell, Georgia Clarke, Keesja Gofers, Kara McKee) at Sydney University Sports and Fitness Centre.


Sydney University Lions 7 (Keesja Gofers 2, Alicia Brightwell, Gabby Wikman, Georgia Clarke, Joanne Whitehorn, Hannah Buckling) d Cronulla Sharks 6 (Mieke Cabout 3, Holly Lincoln-Smith, Patrice O’Neill, Maddy Schmid) at Sutherland.



Men’s Super League – Round 1

First Grade: Central Coast 4 d Sydney University 3 at Hensley Athletic Field.

Under 20: Central Coast 1 d Sydney University nil.

Women’s Premier League – Round 1

First Grade: Sydney University 8 d Sutherland Shire 0 at Hensley Athletic Field.

Reserve Grade: Sydney University 2 d Sutherland Shire 1.

Under 16: Sutherland Shire 3 d Sydney University 2.

Under 14: Sydney University 1 drew with Sutherland Shire 1.

Under 12: Sydney University 3 d Sutherland Shire 1.



 Sydney Badge competition -Round 1


 1/1 Roseville (1) 6/38 d Sydney University (1) 2/18 at Manning

1/4 Neutral Bay (1) 4/40 d Sydney University (2) 2/26 at Manning

1/4 Manly (4) 6/43 d Sydney University (3) 2/29 at Manning

2/1 Sydney University (4) 7/47 d Royal Sydney (2) 1/21 at Royal Sydney 

2/2 Sydney University (5) 5/43 d Royal Sydney (4) 3/29 at Royal Sydney 


 1/1 Sydney University (1) 7/47 d Canterbury Bankstown (1) 1/27 at Manning

1/2 Royal Sydney (1) 7/47 d Sydney University (2) 1/22 at Manning

1/4 Killara (2) d Sydney University (3) w/o