Graham Croker

Sydney University dropped to second on the First Grade Belvidere Cup ladder, despite posting an impressive first innings win over Sutherland in their two-day fixture at Glenn McGrath Oval, finishing on Saturday.

Randwick-Petersham took over the competition lead when they earned maximum points (10) with an outright defeat of Western Suburbs at Pratten Park.

The Randy-Petes moved to 68 points on the ladder after Round 11, with Sydney University (65), Fairfield-Liverpool (57), St George (55), Sydney (51) and Bankstown (50) making up the top six.

Having rattled up 8-305 on the first day of the match against Sutherland, thanks to solid contributions from Nick Larkin (85), Scott Henry (75) and Mark Faraday (50). Sydney University skipper Will Hay declared overnight, giving his bowlers a full day to go after points.

With opener Phil Jacques called up for NSW Twenty20 duties and unable to bat for Sutherland, the Students took advantage of his absence to have the hosts 5-75 before the middle and late order came to the rescue. Matthew Hopkins (67) and Dean Rixon (63) prolonged the cause, before Sutherland were all out for 261.

Having missed out with the bat on day one, Greg Mail made his mark with the ball on day two, finishing with 4-56 off 22 overs of nagging medium pace. Kevin Desai (2-17 off 16 overs) and Nigel Cowell (2-52 off 17 overs) also enjoyed the spoils.

The win helped lift Sydney University one spot up the Club Championship ladder which is headed by St George on 1081 points. Randwick-Petersham (1038), Manly-Warringah (935), Bankstown (924), Sydney (889) and Sydney University (888) make up the top six.

Sydney University’s Club Championship tally was also helped by Second Grade’s 214-run win over Sutherland and by the Poidevin-Gray (Under 21) side’s 134-run win over Western Suburbs in their 50-over fixture the previous Sunday.

Second Grade (36 points) are sixth on the competition ladder, headed by St George (46), North Sydney (43), Gordon (41), Parramatta (40) and Randwick-Petersham (39).

In the lower grades, Sydney University Third Grade are 9th on the ladder, Fourths are 18th and Fifths are 14th.

Sydney University’s strong Poidevin-Gray side sits third on the competition ladder after seven rounds. Hawkesbury (27), Penrith (25), Sydney University (23), St George (22), Randwick-Petersham (20) and Parramatta (19) make up the top six.

Matthew Morgan batted through the innings to finish with 108 not out as Sydney University posted 4-289 off their 50 overs in the Poidevin-Gray win over Western Suburbs. The Students then restricted Wests to 8-155, with Charles McKeith (2-31) and David Miller (2-15) the best of the trundlers.

The win gave Sydney University the chance of hosting a qualifying final in the Poidevin-Gray Shield.

Round 12 of the club competition will see Sydney University up against Bankstown on February 5 and 6.

Meanwhile, Manly-Warringah posted an eight-wicket win over Sydney University in their limited-over competition qualifying final at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Sunday.

After losing opener Ian Moran for a second-ball duck, Greg Mail for one, Beau Casson for four and Mark Faraday for a duck, the Students found themselves 4-17 before the canteen shutters were up.

Will Hay anchored the fightback, before being cruelly run out for 44, while Scott Henry (42) and Kevin Desai (26 not out) helped the hosts reach 142 off 42.2 overs. Jackson Bird took the Manly-Warringah bowling honours with 6-19 off his 10 overs.

The visitors made short work of chasing down the target. After Nigel Cowell had bowled Ben Davis (11) and Tim Cruickshank (2), opener Adam Crossthwaite (77 not out) and Nat Hill (54 not out) saw Manly-Warringah reach 2-149 in 34 overs.

Having finished second on the ladder, the Students are still in the hunt in the limited-over competition, with a semi-final against Randwick-Petersham at Coogee Oval on February 20.



Sydney Men’s Grade competition – Round 11 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Sydney University 8(dec)-305 (Nick Larkin 85, Scott Henry 75, Mark Faraday 50; Adam Fleming 5-56, Adrian Ezquerro 2-75) d Sutherland 261 (Matthew Hopkins 67, Dean Rixon 63, Adam Zampa 37; Greg Mail 4-56, Kevin Desai 2-17) on first innings at Glenn McGrath Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Sutherland 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 8(dec)-311 (Liam Robertson 87, Tom Kierath 57, Justin Younes 54, Ben Larkin 42; Scott Dawes 2-46) d Sutherland 197 (James Bill 57, Joel Tuccia 47, Joel Burnett 35; Ben Joy 3-40, Robert Edwards 3-48, Tom Kierath 2-25) and 6-155 (Joel Brockley 46; Ben Joy 2-18) on the first innings at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sutherland. Points: Sydney University 6, Sutherland 0.

Third Grade: Sutherland 4-306 (Sean McInnes 75, Liam Casey 68, Dylan Smith 58 not out, Mark Rice 52; Kerrod McPherson 2-36) d Sydney University 6(dec)-304 (Ken Huckle 87, Jack Hill 64 not out, John Saint 60; Sam Newman 2-54) by six wickets at Sutherland Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sutherland 6, Sydney University 0.

Fourth Grade: Sutherland 210 (Mathew Earley 69, Phil Weatherall 39, Blake Miller 34; Charles Cull 7-49, Elliott Braunstein 2-27) and 164 (Daniel Simpson 85, Phil Weatherall 38; Elliott Braunstein 3-9, Simon Cowan 3-63) d Sydney University 129 (James Larkin 39, Edward Arnott 24; Ben Dwarshuis 5-44) on the first innings at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Sutherland. Batted first: Sutherland. Points: Sutherland 6, Sydney University 0.

Fifth Grade: Sutherland 333 (Martin Henry 67, Jamie Brown 64, Nicholas McCarthy 51; Alex Barwick 4-85, Greg Metcalfe 4-114) d Sydney University 302 (Aaron Khwongwar 78, Alex Barwick 36, Edward Lewis 35; Jamie Brown 6-43) at Tonkin Park. Toss: Sutherland. Batted first: Sutherland. Points: Sutherland 6, Sydney University 0.

Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 7 (limited overs)

Sydney University 4-289 off 50 overs (Matthew Morgan 108 not out, Nick Larkin 75, Justin Younes 33, Robert Edwards 32 not out; Michael Stead 2-39) d Western Suburbs 8-155 off 50 overs (Brenton Wright 37 not out, Shariful Islam 30, James Winder 20; Charles McKeith 2-31, David Miller 2-15) by 134 runs at Pratten Park on Sunday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 7, Western Suburbs 0.

First Grade Limited- Over competition – Qualifying final

Manly-Warringah 2-149 off 34 overs (Adam Crossthwaite 77 not out, Nat Hill 54 not out) d Sydney University 147 off 42.2 overs (Will Hay 44, Scott Henry 42, Kevin Desai 26 not out; Jackson Bird 6-19) by eight wickets at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Manly-Warringah. Batted first: Sydney University. Semi-finals – February 20: Randwick-Petersham v Sydney University at Coogee Oval; Fairfield-Liverpool v Manly-Warringah at Rosedale Oval.