Fencing win inaugural NSW Club Grand Prix Championship

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Fencing win inaugural NSW Club Grand Prix Championship

Sydney Uni Fencing Club has won the inaugural NSW Club Grand Prix Championship, with SUFC athletes accumulating 1008 Grand Prix points over the course of 2010 and dominating over our nearest rivals UTS (669 points) and UNSW (635 points).

“The 2010 season has been dramatic for us, with the first half of the year looking fairly dire as our rival clubs took an early lead,” said Sydney Uni Fencing Club President John Chow.

“Our fortunes took a turn for the better in August when we dominated the Australian Club Championships (Calibre Cup), winning three out of six team events.

The Club had plenty of tough competitions to round out the rest of the season, but now we believed that we could take out the overall NSW Club Grand Prix,” Chow continued.

The Woon Luen Tang Memorial Trophy was presented at the New South Wales Fencing Association gala dinner on Saturday 27 November 2010 to the SUFC captains who were instrumental in leading the teams this year: Daniel Osvath (Captain: Foil), Nicholas Davies (2010 SUSF Blues, Captain: Epee), and Adam Wilcock (Captain: Sabre).

Chow was full of praise for the entire Fencing Club.

“The strength of the Club has always stemmed from the dedication of its members, and this is reflected in our victories across all three weapon disciplines in the sport as well as in both individual and team events.

It is notable that SUFC was the only club with representatives on every NSW team in the recent Australian Open Championships held in Brisbane.

I would particularly like to congratulate our club captains – Daniel Osvath, Nicholas Davies (2010 SUSF Blues recipient), and Adam Wilcock for their tremendous efforts in organising our members, as well as Margarita Sokolovskaja (2010 SUSF Blues recipient) in her pivotal performances throughout this season.” 

Podium Results from the 2010 Australian Open and Veteran Championships (for team events, the SUFC affiliated athletes in the NSW team are named):

Women’s Sabre Individual: *2. Jess Brooks* Women’s Sabre Teams:

*1.* NSW (*Jess Brooks*) Men’s Sabre Teams: *3.* NSW A (*Adam Wilcock, John Chow*) Men’s Foil Individual: *3. Feng Yeng* Men’s Foil Teams:

*1.* NSW A (*Daniel Osvath*) Women’s Foil Teams: *1.* NSW A (*Anna Kovacs, Margarita Sokolovskaja*), *3.* NSW B (*Ashleigh Fordham*)

Men’s Epee Teams: *2.* NSW A (*Nicholas Davies, Reagan Clarke*), *3*. NSW B (*Edward Fernon, Benjamin Wilcock*)

Veteran Women’s Sabre Individual: *1. Harriet Jordan * Veteran Women’s Epee Individual: *1. Sarah Osvath, 3. Harriet Jordan*