Desai dodge the showers

Graham Croker

A devastating spell from left-arm orthodox spinner Kevin Desai helped Sydney University secure first innings points over UNSW – and the competition lead – on a rain-interrupted second day of their match at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Saturday.

Desai snared 4-14 from 15 tight overs, which included eight maidens. Three of his victims were in tandem with wicketkeeper James Crowley, who stumped opener Angus Robson (19) and No.6 James Day (13) and caught No.3 David Dawson (10), while Desai caught and bowled No.4 Mitchell Gowland (1).

UNSW resumed on 0-24 after Sydney University had declared late on the first day at 4-325, thanks largely to 152 from all-rounder Ian Moran, who cracked 152, Scott Henry (82) and Mark Faraday (42 not out).

Robson and James McNeil, who survived eight overs at the end of the first day, pushed the score along to 65 on day two before Greg Mail had McNeil caught by Henry for 40.

With inclement weather interrupting proceedings, University captain Will Hay  introduced Desai to the attack and four wickets later the visitors were reeling at 5-88.

UNSW All-rounder Charles Wakim fought hard to remain unbeaten on 50, but wickets kept falling around him as Sydney University pushed for first innings points.

The Second Grade fixture at the Village Green ended in a high-scoring draw with Sydney University 4-222 in reply to UNSW’s 4(dec)- 325 before rain brought a halt to proceedings.

UNSW’s innings was highlighted by Murray Creed’s 207 not out, while Sydney University’s Nick Larkin provided the bulk of the reply with 131 not out.

UNSW took first innings points in Third Grade, while the Fourth and Fifth Grade fixtures ended in drawn results.

Inclement weather forced the cancellation of all matches in the first round of the Poidevin-Gray Shield scheduled for Sunday, with Sydney University having been drawn to meet Penrith No.1 Oval. The second round – on November 7- will see the Students up against Northern District at Waitara Oval.

The first round of the AW Green Shield is not until December 19, when Sydney University will meet Mosman at University No.2 Oval.

Back in the competition proper, Sydney University First XI will meet third-placed St George in a limited overs match at No.1 Oval on Saturday, while Seconds will be at Hurstville Oval, Thirds at Sydney University No.2 Oval, Fourths at Harold Fraser Reserve, and Fifths at St Paul’s College Oval.



Men’s Sydney Grade competition – Round 3 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Sydney 4(dec)-325 (Ian Moran 152, Scott Henry 82, Mark Faraday 42 not out, Greg Mail 25; James Henry 1-24) d UNSW 178 (Charles Wakim 50. James McNeil 40, Angus Robson 19; Kevin Desai 4-14, Mark Cameron 1-22) on the first innings at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Won by UNSW. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6.

Second Grade: UNSW 8(dec)-378 (Murray Creed 207 not out, Stuart McKay 55, William Lindsay 44; Michael Culkoff 2-54, Chris Withers 2-92, Robert Edwards 2-96) drew with Sydney University 4-222 (Nick Larkin 131 not out, Liam Robertson 44, Matthew Morgan 20 not out; Christopher Tremain 4-46) at the Village Green. Toss: UNSW. Batted first: UNSW. Points: UNSW 0, Sydney University 0.

Third Grade: UNSW 271 (Sean Gardner, 63, Timothy Hood 55, Michael Rae 51 not out, Nathan McCoy 35 not out; Hasi Balasuriya 3-28, Ben Joy 3-69) d Sydney University 256 (Suda Sivapalan 77, Ken Huckle 73, Justin Younes 32, Jim Kazaglis 22; Eric Zehner 7-46) on the first innings at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: UNSW. Points: UNSW 6.

Fourth Grade: Sydney University 191 (Alasdair Grant 50, Nick Fitzgerald 37, Ash Cowan 29, Charles Cull 24; Alexander Charlwood 3-29, Thomas Jagot 2-32) drew with UNSW 7-184 (Thomas Jagot 60, Jack Roach 50, Gavin Pereira 31; Charles Cull 2-27, Charles McKeith 2-43) at David Phillips North Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 0, UNSW 0.

Fifth Grade: UNSW 243 (Manus Choudhury 65, Philip Hartig-Franc 45, David Jebb 40, Vivek Ambat 33; Simon Cowell 4-29, Virosh Poolagasandrum 2-26, Angus Glynn 2-60) drew with Sydney University 2-99 (Charles Arcus 43 not out, Paul Bertelle 31 not out) at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: UNSW. Points: Sydney University 0, UNSW 0.


Women’s Sydney Grade competition – Round 3

First Grade: Universities v Bankstown Sports at Village Green, Sunday, October 24. Washed out.

Second Grade: Bankstown Sports v Universities at Grahame Thomas Oval, Sunday, October 24. Washed out.