Carter wins best and fairest award

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Carter wins best and fairest award

Graham Croker

Inside-centre Tom Carter was named club best and fairest player at the recent 2010 Sydney University Football Club awards night held at the Ivy.

The NSW Waratahs back was one of the key performers in the back half of the season when the Students won 13 games on the trot to collect a sixth successive premiership.

The winning streak coincided with the return of captain and number eight Tim Davidson, who was presented with the Michael Griffin Players’ Player award. Davidson now boasts 88 wins from 95 games as First XV captain.

Five-eighth Berrick Barnes won the Player of the Finals award after three consecutive outstanding performances during which he notched 69 points, including 26 in the 46-6 grand final win over Randwick.

Clubman of the Year went to Nick Duffy, Colts Clubman of the Year to Ed Walgien, Volunteer of the Year was Stephen Rowntree, and Team of the Year was shared by First Grade and First Grade Colts.

Tom Boiden concluded an outstanding season when awarded the Steve Anthony trophy for Best and Fairest Colt, and Jack De Guingand was awarded the Most Promising Colts Player.

Five-eighth-cum-fullback Justin Bosilkovski was a clear winner of the club’s highest pointscorer with 295 points after a memorable season with the boot, and Colts speedster John Stapleton was the leading tryscorer with 20 for the season.

During the year the Football Club won the Patagonia Cup on the pre-season tour of, Argentina, retained the Sir Roden Cutler Shield, won a seventh consecutive Club Championship and a sixth consecutive Colts Club Championship, won minor premierships in First, Second and Third grade Colts, featured all seven teams in the finals series, won a record-equalling sixth successive premiership in First Grade, a fourth successive First Grade Colts title, and a fifth successive Second Grade Colts title. Third Grade Colts were runners-up.

Sydney University’s women’s First XV won the minor and major premierships in the Sydney Women’s competition, while the SUFC Under 17s were joint State Champions.

Other award winners on the night included:

3rd Colts XV Best Forward – Hugh Frazer


3rd Colts XV Best Back – Cale Holmes

2nd Colts XV Best Forward – Will Drabble

2nd Colts XV Best Back – James Swan

1st Colts XV Best Forward – Kurtis Larsen

1st Colts XV Best Back – Jack Freeman

Colts Encouragement Award Colts – Silatolu Latu

4th XV Best Forward – Dan Simpson

4th XV Best Back – Ian Hilliard

3rd XV Best Forward – Josh Ellice-Flint

3rd XV Best Back 2010 – James McMahon

2nd XV Best Forward – Hugh Hawkins

2nd XV Best Back – Jeremy Atkin

1st XV Best Back – Nick Phipps

1st XV Best Forward – Dave McDuling

1st XV Leading Pointscorer – Dan Kelly 108 points

1st XV Leading Tryscorer – Nathan Trist 17 tries

Craig Fear Encouragement Award – Alasdair King

1st Colts XV Best Fresher – David Hickey

Most Promising Colt – Jack De Guingand

Most Improved Colt – Michael Pollastri

Most Improved Grade – Sam Carter