Sydney University went to Blacktown Olympic Park on Saturday with high hopes of securing three premierships but came away with one flag – in the Under 18 Premier Cup – and disappointment in the Premier Division and Reserve Grade.

East Coast Eagles made it back-to-back Premier Division Cups when they defeated minor premiers Sydney University by 17 points in the season decider.

The Eagles won 13.9 (87) to 10.10 (70) with Peter Dugmore kicking three goals for the winners and Mark Egan steering home three for the Students, taking him to 70 for the season.

In a closely-fought affair, the Eagles kicked the last three goals of the game to secure the flag. East Coast’s Damien Bowles won the Rod Podbury medal for best on ground and was well supported by Damien Charleston and Jack Dimery.

For Sydney University, Mitchell Thompson, David Mitchell and Aaron Hawkins worked hard all day.

The Students were shooting for their first flag since 1992 when Ron Carter and Brett Scott led the First Grade to a premiership (18.16: 124 to 8.11: 59 over North Shore) and the Club of the Year award.

The club’s inaugural First Grade premiership was in 1969 when Rodney Tubbs captain-coached First Grade to a NSW AFL title with a win over St George.

Despite their domination of the Premier Division, Sydney University finished third on the Club Championship ladder which was headed by UTS – for the third year in a row – ahead of Western Suburbs. The Club Championship award is presented to the club with the best on-field performance across their top three teams in any division.


East Coast Eagles 13.9: 87 Peter Dugmore 3, Damien Bowles 2, Daniel Spiteri 2, Damien Charleston, Justin Steer, Mike Beardsley, Trent Baker, Mark Goodey, Stephen O’Connor d Sydney University 10.10: 70 Mark Egan 3, Jesse Martin, Mitchell Thompson, Sam Crichton, Anton Turco, Adam McConnochie, Benjamin Mankarious, Alexander Lee

Best players: East Coast Eagles: Damien Bowles, Damien Charleston, Jack Dimery, Jon Vlatko, Peter Dugmore, Kieren McRedmond.

Sydney University: Mitchell Thompson, David Mitchell, Aaron Hawkins, Jack Caspersonn, Tom Elkington, Adam McConnochie


B: Jack Lawson, Aaron Hawkins, Tyson Roberts

HB: Michael Higgins, Clinton Wells, Jesse Martin

C: Alexander Lee, Benjamin Mankarious, Anton Turco

HF: Richard Burrows, Mark Egan, Jack Caspersonn

F: Sam Crichton, Sam Sloane, Jess McGuirk

R: Tom Elkington, Mitchell Thompson, Adam McConnochie

Int: Andrew Kraefft, Jordan McIntyre, David Mitchell, Nicholas Barton

Coach: Roger Moten


B: Ben Physick, Scott Pierce, Darren Chapman

HB: Rowan Bilkey, Justin Steer, Jon Vlatko

C: Dean Costello, Mike Beardsley, Trent Baker

HF: Daniel Spiteri, Damien Charleston, Peter Vlatko

F: Benjamin Rogers, Peter Dugmore, Kristian Pearson

R: Damien Bowles, Jack Dimery, Eugene Kruger

Int: Mark Goodey, Ryan Fitton, Shane Ryan, Jamie Vlatko, Steve Merkel, Kieren McRedmond, Steve O’Connor.


UTS go back-to-back in Division One

UTS upset big brother Sydney University when they made it back-to-back titles in the Division One competition.

While the margin was just three points at the final break, UTS kicked away in the final term to run out 27-point winners.

UTS won 10.9 (69) to 6.6 (42), with Tom Steinfort being judged best afield. He had strong support from David Lavender and Tom Chadwick, while Peter Halstead, Snow Medalist Tim Air and Michael Atkinson were stand-outs for Sydney University.


UTS 10.9: 69 (Simon Fitzgerald 2, David Lavender 2, Timothy Wallace 2, Andrew Davis, Michael Mullins, Fearghal Purcell, Henry McGregor) d Sydney University 6.6: 42 (Nick Lye 2, Chris Walsh 2, Chrsitopher Kendrick, Mick Carey).

Best players: UTS: Tom Steinfort, David Lavender, Tom Chadwick, Simon Fitzgerald, Fearghal Purcell, Alan Kymantas.

Sydney University: Peter Halstead, Tim Air, Michael Atkinson, Ben Malone, Simon Nash, William Pearse.


B: Samuel Power, Simon Nash, Nicholas Costello

HB: James Champion De Crespign, Garry Burch, Chris Walsh

C: Jarryd Boyd, Nick Roberts, Luke Higgins

HF: Christopher Kendrick, Michael Killicoat, William Pearse

F: Leigh McWhirter, Nicholas Lye, Chas Wilkinson

R: Peter Halstead, Michael Atkinson, Tim Air

Int: Mick Carey, Sebastian Wende, Andrew Holmes, Ben Malone


Students snare Under 18 Premier Cup

In one of the best matches of the day, Sydney University won an extra-time thriller against East Coast Eagles in the Under 18 Premier Cup showdown.

With the scores tied after regular time, the two teams went to extra time with Sydney University coming out on top by a goal, 15.9 (99) to 15.3 (93).

It was Sydney University’s first year in Premier Cup after winning the Under 18 Challenge Cup last year.

Adrian Yakimov was awarded the best on ground medal and received good support from Michael Hartley and Kealy Medallist Monty Krochmal.

For East Coast, Josh Patira, Campbell Ford and Jake Pianta were strong performers.


Sydney University 15.9: 99 (Nick Perry 4, Gabriel Robbie 3, Dean Knight 2, Todd Aitken 2, Tim Barrett, Michael Hartley, Nukarin Lewington, Todd Considine) d East Coast Eagles 15.3: 93 (Joshua Patira 4, Ethan Barclay 3, Damien Steer 2, Dominic Killworth 2, Matthew Newson , Jonathon Spencer , Aaron Savage , Michael Nance).

Best players: Sydney University: Adrian Yakimov, Michael Hartley, Monty Krochmal, Harrison Orr, Nick Perry, Tim Barrett.

East Coast Eagles: Joshua Patira, Campbell Ford, Jake Pianta, Michael Nance, Dominic Killworth, Ethan Barclay.


B: Karwin Rogers, Stephen Michaels, Dane Roberton

HB: Harrison Orr, Nick Perry, Nukarin Lewington

C: Dean Knight, Monty Krochmal, Lewis Cowper

HF: Morgan Davis, Michael Hartley, Adrian Yakimov

F: Thomas Aitken, Gabriel Robbie, Tim Barrett

R: Stuart Jamieson, Nathan Weldon-Bowen, Todd Considine

Int: Ben Caligiore, Hugh Dixon, Thomas Graham, Pat Francis


Lee wins Phelan Medal

At the annual presentations on the Monday night prior to the grand finals, Sydney University midfielder Alex Lee was awarded the Phelan Medal as the competition’s best and fairest player for 2010.

Lee polled 19 votes to win the award from University team-mate Ben Mankarious and St George captain Declan Donohue (17 votes). East Coast’s Damien Bowles finished on 21 votes but was ineligible due to suspension.

The 25-year-old-Lee became the Sydney University club’s third winner of the prestigious award following on from Brydon Coles in 2009 and Michael Davis in 1990.

As well as Mankarious, Sydney University’s Tom Elkington and captain Mark Egan also polled strongly.

Sydney University all claimed a number of other awards, with Senior coach Roger Moten was named Coach of the Year; Reserve grade captain Tim Air winning the Snow Medal (Best and Fairest in Division One) and Colt Monty Krochmal the Kealy Medal (Under 18 Premier Cup Best and Fairest). Gabe Robbie was the leading goalkicker for the Under 18 Premier Cup competition.

Egan, Adam McConnochie, Mankarious and Elkington are all Sydney University Sport Scholarship holders and members of the Elite Athlete Program.