Graham Croker

A second quarter blitz from Sydney University led the way to a 162-point drubbing of Campbelltown when they met under lights at Sydney University No. 1 Oval on Friday night.

After trailing 27-17 at the first break, the Students turned on a 12-goal second term, a four-goal third term and a 14-goal final term to run out 32.23 (215) to 8.5 (53) winners.

While Mark Egan once again led the scoring with four goals, the Students had 15 individual scorers, including Benjamin Mankarious, Jesse Martin, Andrew Kraefft Tom Elkington and Adam McConnochie, who each kicked three.

The competition leaders need to beat six-placed St George at Olds Park in the final round next Saturday to wrap up the 2010 minor premiership.

The Students are on 60 competition points, with Western Suburbs (56), East Coast Eagles (52), North Shore (44), Pennant Hills (36) and St George (24) making up the top six.


Sydney Premier Division – Round 17

Premier Division: Sydney University 32.23: 215 (Mark Egan 4, Benjamin Mankarious 3, Jesse Martin 3, Andrew Kraefft 3, Tom Elkington 3, Adam McConnochie 3, Jess McGuirk 2, Sam Crichton 2, Jordan McIntyre 2, David Mitchell 2, Clinton Wells , Jack Caspersonn , Alexander Lee , Sam Sloane , Richard Burrows) d Campbelltown 8.5: 53 (M. Keys 3, Owen Love 2, David Chivas 2, Hamish Sherwood) at Sydney University No.1 Oval.
Best players: Sydney University: Andrew Kraefft, Tom Elkington, Adam McConnochie, David Mitchell, Mitchell Thompson, Benjamin Mankarious.
Campbelltown: Jack Brazill, Ryan Bottin-Noonan, Mathew Keys, Ben Yakimov, Trent Wright, Chris Fretwell.

Division One: UTS 10.6: 66 (Thomas Chadwick 3, Andrew Davis 2, David Lavender 2, Dustin Teasdale 2, Jonathon Spragg) d Sydney University 8.10: 58 (Nicholas Lye 2, Chas Wilkinson, Michael Killicoat, Leigh McWhirter, Samuel Power, Anton Turco, Tim Air).

Division Two: UTS 12.10: 82 (Andrew Thain 5, R. Benson, Joshua Cowell, Jacob Prince, Zac Jardine, Brett Pawsky, Tim Gross, Nicholas Haslem) d Sydney University 8.9: 57 (Mark Horsley 3, Tom O’Malley-Jones, Andrew Holmes, Kale Temple, Joshua La Posta, Dion Shaw) at St Paul’s College Oval.

Division Three: UTS 14.12: 96 (Adrian Ireland 5, Thomas Whiting 2, Adrian Sibbick 2, Daniel McGrath, Joshua Cowell, Steven Boyd, Daniel Flanagan, Scott Robertson) d Sydney University 5.6: 36 (Christopher Perkins 3, Karl Chesterman, Jack Walker).

Division Four: Sydney University 12.18: 90 (Chris Murr 4, Blair McFarlane 3, Doug Alley 2, Tim Bauer 2, Robert Fallon) d Camden 4.2: 26 (Ben Wright 3, James Glynn).