Graham Croker

With matches against seventh-placed Campbelltown and sixth-placed St George to wrap up the competition proper, Sydney University have all but secured the 2010 minor premiership in the Sydney Premier Division Australian Football competition.
The Students outclassed cellar-dwellers Wollongong by 35 points at North Dalton Park on Saturday to maintain an eight-point advantage on top of the ladder on 56 points.
East Coast Eagles (48), Western Suburbs (48), North Shore (40), Pennant Hills (32) and St George (24) make up the top six.
Mark Egan bagged another four goals to take his tally to 55 for the season as Sydney University 12.11: 83 downed Wollongong 7.6: 48.
The Students are just a win away from also securing the Division One minor premiership following their 112-point win over Wollongong on Saturday.
Chris Walsh kicked five goals in Sydney University’s one-sided 19.14: 128 to 2.4: 16 win. UTS head the Division One ladder on 56 points, with Sydney University (52), Macquarie University (48), Manly-Warringah (44), North Shore (40) and Pennant Hills (24) making up the top six.
Sydney University’s Under 18 side is assured of a finals berth in the Premier Cup after their 68-point win over Wollongong on Saturday.
Gabriel Robbie posted seven goals to take his season’s tally to 51 as Sydney University kicked 16.10: 106 to defeat Wollongong 6.2: 38.
North Shore head the Under 18 Premier Cup competition, with East Coast Eagles, St George, Sydney University, Pennant Hills and St Ignatius, Riverview making up the top six.
The Students hold down fourth place in the Division Two competition, with nine wins from 15 outings. Southern Power head the competition, with UTS, Holroyd-Parramatta, Sydney University, Nor-West and Camden making up the top six.
With five wins from 16 matches, Sydney University will miss out on the finals series in the Division Three competition which has been dominated by Moorebank Sports, UTS, Penrith and Southern Power.
The ninth-placed Students will also miss out on the finals in the Division Four competition which is headed by Auburn, Saints AFC, Moorebank, Macquarie University Juniors, UTS and Penrith.


Sydney Premier Division – Round 16

Premier Division: Sydney University 12.11: 83 (Mark Egan 4, Sam Crichton 2, Jess McGuirk , Michael Higgins , Alexander Lee, Benjamin Mankarious, Andrew Kraefft, Nukarin Lewington) d Wollongong 7.6: 48 (Kenneth Ewen- Chappel 2, Daniel McClure, James Weavers, Michael Dombroski, Ryan Price, Andrew Barned) at North Dalton Park.
Best players
Sydney University: Adam McConnochie, Sam Crichton, Richard Burrows, Michael Higgins, Jordan McIntyre, Jack Lawson.
Wollongong: Beau Black, Guy Bartlett, Joshua Lewis, Kenneth Ewen- Chappel, Mitchell Hogan, Richard Oehme.

Division One: Sydney University 19.14: 128 (Chris Walsh 5, Jarryd Boyd 3, Nick Roberts 3, Nicholas Lye 3, Christopher Kendrick 2, Roland Wood, Nicholas Costello, Andrew Holmes) d Wollongong 2.4: 16 (Brad Ainsworth 2).

Division Two: Sydney University 12.7: 79 d Nor-West 7.7: 49 at Mahoney Park.

Division Three: Penrith 16.8: 104 d Sydney University 11.11: 77.

Division Four: Penrith 10.13: 73 d Sydney University 5.7: 37.

Under 18 Premier Cup: Sydney University 16.10: 106 (Gabriel Robbie 7, Dane Robertson 2, Todd Considine 2, Craig Moller, Tim Barrett, Richard Hall, Thomas Graham, Adrian Yakimov) d Wollongong 6.2: 38 (Jacob Brookfield 2, Mitchell. Bates, Joshua Roebuck, Joel Sutherland, Ben Hyndes).