Sydney Uni Rowers scoop the pool at NSW Presentation Dinner

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Sydney Uni Rowers scoop the pool at NSW Presentation Dinner

Sydney University Rowing won major awards
both for elite competition and contribution to the sport at the 2011 Rowing New
South Wales Presentation Dinner held last night.


Sydney Uni retained the Men’s and Women’s
Elite U23 Shield after another season in which they dominated the NSW elite


For the 8th year running, the
NSW Rowing Honours Trophy for the most points scored at the State Championships
also went to Sydney Uni – due in large to the efforts of the U21 Women’s squad
who topped the points table in the U19/21 Shield.


On the individual front, Bronwen Watson was
awarded the Oarswoman of the Year trophy.


While Director of Rowing, Mark Prater was
awarded NSW Rowing Coach of the Year for 2009-10. This award recognised the
success of Sydney Uni at both the National Championships (where the club topped
the medal table with 16 golds) and the NSW Championships.


The Rusty Robertson Award is given at the
discretion of the Rowing NSW Board to a club or individual who has made a sustained
and valuable contribution to the aims of the Rowing Association. This year this
major award went to Women’s Rowing Club’s recently retired President, Jane


Jane has been President of the Women’s Club
since 1986 and was instrumental in securing the boatshed at Blackwattle Bay for
Sydney Uni rowing. In addition Jane’s tireless work on preserving access to
waterways in Sydney was recognised in the citation for this award.