Graham Croker

Sydney University Football Club’s Pat McCutcheon is the latest member of the Shute Shield premiers to make a Super 14 appearance.
The Australian Sevens captain came off the bench to make his Super 14 debut in NSW’s 26-10 loss to the Highlanders in rainy Invercargill on Friday night.
The 22-year-old flanker, who has represented Australian Schools and Australia Under 19s, played for SUFC Colts before breaking into First Grade in 2007.
He was one of the form players of the season in Sydney University’s defence of the Shute Shield in 2009 when he was signed to a NSW Junior Waratahs contract. He was reserve backrower for the Waratahs when they lost the 2008 final against the Canterbury Crusaders in Christchurch.
McCutcheon, the club captain at Sydney University this season, was one of a number of SUFC players in the Waratahs ranks on Friday – the others being captain Phil Waugh, second-rower Dean Mumm, flanker Dave Dennis, five-eighth Daniel Halangahu, outside centre Tom Carter, reserve prop Jeremy Tilse and reserve halfback Luke Burgess.
Other SUFC players in the Super 14 ranks this year are hooker Nathan Charles, second-rower Ben McCalman and centre Mitch Inman with the Western Force, prop Jerry Yanuyanutawa with the ACT Brumbies, and prop Laurie Weeks with the Queensland Reds.
They would have been welcome additions to the SUFC ranks in the past four weeks. The Students have lost three of the four opening rounds of the 2010 Shute Shield in their worst start to the competition in a decade.
Sydney University lost the opening round 37-7 to Randwick – and with it the Sir Roden Cutler Shield – before hitting back with a 47-0 win over Parramatta at Granville Park.
But in the past fortnight they have lost 19-17 to Southern Districts at Sydney University No.1 Oval and 13-10 to Warringah at Pittwater Rugby Park.
Sydney University’s three Colts teams remain undefeated after four rounds.


Sydney Grade competition – Round 4

First Grade: Warringah 13 (Kotoni Ale try; Will Sare goal, pen goal; Brock McGarrity pen goal) d Sydney University 10 (Dan Kelly try, goal, pen goal) at Pittwater Rugby Park.

Second Grade: Warringah 27 (Dave Feltscher 2, Hamish Angus, Joshua Toole tries; Hamish Angus 2 goals, pen goal) d Sydney University 15 (Richie Finau, Nathan Trist tries; Justin Bosilkovski goal, pen goal).

Third Grade: Sydney University 12 (Bernard Foley, Willie De Plessis tries; Bernard Foley goal) d Warringah 10 (Sam Kiely try; Tristan Stanley goal, pen goal).

Fourth Grade: Warringah 19 (Simon Jones, M. Paull tries; JP Murphy 3 pen goals) d Sydney University 18 (Charlie Versi, Ian Hilliard tries; James Metcalf goal, pen goal, field goal).


First Grade: Sydney University 30 (4 tries) d Warringah 24.
Second Grade: Sydney University 43 (7 tries) d Warringah 15.
Third Grade: Sydney University 54 (8 tries) d Warringah 0.

Round 3

First Grade: Southern Districts 19 (Tetera Faulkner, Tom Koroi, Nick Price tries; Nathan Sievert 2 cons) d Sydney University 17 (Trent Dyer, Ed Jenkins, Peter Betham tries; Jacob Taylor con) at Sydney University No.1 Oval.


First Grade: Sydney University 36 (6 tries) d Southern Districts 14.
Second Grade: Sydney University 73 (11 tries) D Southern Districts 7.
Third Grade: Sydney University 37 (7 tries) d Southern Districts 10

Round 2

First Grade: Sydney University 47 (Dave McDuling 3, Paddy Ryan, Matt Schwager, Josh Dillon, Jacob Taylor, Alex Rockobaro tries; Alex Rockobaro goal, pen goal, Jacob Taylor goal) d Parramatta 0 at Granville Park.

Second Grade: Sydney University 49 (Duncan Hardy 2, Sam Hosking, Eddie Brendanhann, Hayden Bushell, Jeremy Atkin, Richie Finau tries; Justin Bosilkovski 4 goals, Eddie Brendanhann 3 goals) d Parramatta 12 (Jesse Leota, Junior Leota tries; Tim Holliday goal)


First Grade: Sydney University 53 (8 tries) d Parramatta 7.
Second Grade: Sydney University 55 (9 tries) d Parramatta 0.

Round 1

First Grade: Randwick 37 (David Dillon, Matt Nethery, Bevu Tuqiri tries; Toby Brown 2 goals, 6 pen goals) d Sydney University 7 (Jacob Taylor try; Justin Bosilkowski goal) at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Randwick take ownership of Sir Roden Cutler Shield.

Second Grade: Sydney University 51 (Michael Hodge 2, Robert O’Reilly 2, Trent Dyer, Tom Tombleson, Toby L’Estrange tries; Eddie Bredanhann 5 goals, 2 pen goals) d Randwick 33 (Bevu Tuqiri 2, John Fonokalafi, Sam Rutherford, David Parsons tries; Bevu Tuqiri 4 goals).

Third Grade: Randwick 23 (Dale Lindsay, David Parsons, Lai Vatadroka tries; Benjamin Greentree goal, 2 pen goals) d Sydney University 7 (Chris Chapman try; James Metcalf goal).

Fourth Grade: Randwick 10 (Daniel Robertson, David Wright tries) d Sydney University 5 (Lance Alaalatoa try).


First Grade: Sydney University 29 d Randwick 22 at Coogee Oval.
Second Grade: Sydney University 48 d Randwick 5.
Third Grade: Sydney University 40 d Randwick 0