Graham Croker

Sydney University Lions ended the 2009-10 National Men’s Water Polo League competition proper on a strong note to earn fourth spot in the six-team finals series to be played at Homebush from May 4-8.
The Lions won three of their final four matches on the road to edge into fourth place, with a 10-8 result over Drummoyne Devils, a 16-5 win over the Brisbane Barracudas and an 8-7 win over Queensland Breakers interspersed with a 13-8 loss to the Breakers.
Fremantle Mariners won a record sixth NWPL minor premiership when they secured an 11-all draw with just 14 seconds on the clock in the final round against Drummoyne Devils at the Bicton Pool in Perth.
In a very tight competition, the Mariners finished on 59 points with 17 wins, three draws and two losses to edge out the Victorian Tigers on 58 points, with 18 wins and four losses. The final six includes Drummoyne Devils (56), Sydney University Lions (51), Queensland Breakers (50) and UNSW Wests Magpies (50).
The six finalists will be split into two groups to start the finals series, with Fremantle, Sydney University and Wests in Group One and Victoria, Drummoyne and the Breakers in Group Two.
In the Women’s National League, Balmain Tigers finished on 61 points to take out the 2009-10 minor premiership. Brisbane Barracudas (60), Queensland Breakers (58), Fremantle Marlins (55), Cronulla Sharks (47) and Victorian Tigers (46) make up the top six finals field.
Sydney University finished in 9th spot with five wins, five draws and 12 losses.

Men’s Scoreboard

Sydney University 10 (Trent Franklin 2, Nathan Thomas 2, Lachlan Hollis 2, Luke Northcott, Luis Crus, Scott McKenzie, Jeremy Davie) d Drummoyne Devils 8 (Mitch Emery 3, Aiden Roach 2, Samuelle Avallone 2, Sean Boyd) at Drummoyne Pool.

Queensland Breakers 13 (Daniel Streets 4, Billy Miller 4, Jordan Votan 2, Mason Fettel, Matt Birch, Mitch McCann) d Sydney University Lions 8 (Trent Franklin 2, Clayton Whittaker, Luis Crus, Scott Nicholson, Jeremy Davie, Lachlan Hollis, Scott McKenzie) at Valley Pool, Brisbane.

Sydney University Lions 16 (Trent Franklin 3, Luis Crus 3, Clayton Whittaker 2, Jeremy Davie 2, Lachlan Hollis 2, James Young, Luke Northcott, Scott Nicholson, Alastair Visch) d Brisbane Barracudas 5 (BJ Howden 2, Cian Mulcahy, Matt Giles, Stewart Greenback) at Musgrave Park Aquatic Centre, Brisbane.

Sydney University 8 (Trent Franklin 4, Nathan Cargill 2, Alastair Visch, Scott McKenzie) d Queensland Breakers 7 (Daniel Streets 2, Billy Miller 2, S Robertson, Jordan Votan, Chris Corbin).