Graham Croker

Sydney University will be calling on Greg Mail to continue a run-laden season and Mr Reliable, Ian Moran, to secure first innings points when they resume battle with Mosman at Rawson Park on Saturday.
Mail was 36 not out and Moran unbeaten on 30 at stumps on day one with Sydney University teetering at 4-87 in reply to the host’s 253.
Having won the toss and batted, Mosman were reeling at 3-15 before the middle order of Sam Roberts (77) Michael Bryant (37) and Jason Vero (33) set the ship back on course. Sam Sykes (41 not out) added some late order respectability to the tally.
Tom Keirath was the best of the University trundlers, with his 4-86 coming off 28 overs. Moran (3-47) and Josh Toyer (2-50) also shared the wickets.
Sydney University Firsts sit fourth on the Belvedere Cup ladder behind Sutherland, Bankstown and Eastern Suburbs and will be hoping to end 2009 on a winning note.
Pressure is also on the lower grades this weekend to maintain the club’s second position on the Club Championship behind St George.
Second Grade – sitting third on the competition ladder behind Bankstown and Sutherland – are in a strong position at University No.1 Oval.
After winning the toss and batting, Chris Jones (190) and Paul O’Halloran (150 not out) helped the Students to a healthy 4(dec)-385. Mosman were 0-6 at stumps.
Mosman Third Grade will resume at 1-30 after dismissing 12th placed Sydney University for 211 at Allan Border Oval. Daniel Ward (55 not out) was the best of the University bladesmen, while Izzy Gray distinguished himself with the ball, finishing with 6-42.
Sydney University Fourths, who head the competition, are in a strong position at Sydney University No.2 Oval. The Students rattled up 310 on the back of strong contributions from Matt Skinner (123) and Ed Quoyle (81). Mosman will resume at 0-2 on Saturday.
And Sydney University Fifth Grade are also in a strong position to secure first innings points and maintain their fourth place on the competition ladder.
Aaron Khongwar (60), Jarrod Waterlow (54), Angus McKay (53), Ashlev Crasto (37) and Angus Glynne (35) helped the Students to 296 at Balmoral Oval. Mosman will resume at 1-21 on Saturday.
Meanwhile, Sydney University’s Poidevin-Gray side moved into second place on the competition ladder behind Bankstown, with a big win over Fairifleld-Liverpool at Rosedale Oval on Sunday.
Ben Larkin (115), Nick Larkin (75) and David Miller (66) helped the Students to 3-295 off their 50 overs, before Josh Toyer (5-18), Alisdair Grant (2-21) and Hasi Balasurija (2-31) helped roll the hosts for 126 off 36 overs.

Sydney Grade Cricket – Round 8 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Mosman 253 (Sam Roberts 77, Sam Sykes 41 not out, Michael Bryant 37, Jason Vero 33; Tom Keirath 4-86, Ian Moran 3-47, Josh Toyer 2-50) v Sydney University 4-87 (Greg Mail 36 not out, Ian Moran 30 not out; Clint Holland 2-19) stumps, day one, at Rawson Park. Toss won by: Mosman.
Second Grade: Sydney University 4(dec)-385 (Chris Jones 190, Paul O’Halloran 150 not out; Ellery Clugston 3-89) v Mosman 0-6 stumps, day one, at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Sydney University.
Third Grade: Sydney University 211 (Daniel Ward 55 not out; Izzy Gray 6-42, Craig Stein 4-52) v Mosman 1-30 stumps, day one, at Allan Border Oval. Toss: Sydney University.
Fourth Grade: Sydney University 310 (Matt Skinner 123, Ed Quoyle 81, Justin Jounes 64; Chris Dan 4-73, Adam Stevens 2-13, Edward Bernasconi 2-46) v Mosman 0-2 stumps, day one at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Sydney University.
Fifth Grade: Sydney University 296 (Aaron Khongwar 60, Jarrod Waterlow 54, Angus McKay 53, Ashlev Crasto 37, Angus Glynne 35; Tim Geldens 3-40) v Mosman 1-21 stumps, day one at Balmoral Oval. Toss: Sydney University.

Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 5

Sydney University 3-295 off 50 overs (Ben Larkin 119, Nick Larkin 75, David Miller 66; Nathan Jattan 2-52) d Fairfield-Liverpool 126 off 36.1 overs (Mitch Lloyd 36; Josh Toyer 5-18, Alisdair Grant 2-21, Hasi Balasurija 2-31) at Rosedale Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 8, Fairfield-Liverpool 0.

Women’s National League – Twenty20

Victoria 16-23 off 20 overs (Lisa Sthalekar 0-27) d NSW 7-116 off 20 overs (Alex Blackwell 30, Kate Blackwell 14 not out) at Manly Oval.

Limited Overs

NSW 5-187 (Lisa Sthalekar 42, Alex Blackwell 37, Kate Blackwell 9) d Victoria 186 off 49.4 overs (Lisa Sthalekar 1-28) at Manly Oval.
Victoria 188 off 43.2 overs (Lisa Sthalekar 3-26) d NSW 121 off 34.1 overs (Alex Blackwell 39, Lisa Sthalekar 27) by 67 runs at Manly Oval.