Graham Croker

World Cup and Olympic rower Sally Kehoe and Wallaby second-rower Dean Mumm were named Female and Male Blues of the Year for 2009 at the annual awards dinner held in the Great Hall on Saturday night.
Kehoe, a Bachelor of Commerce/Arts student, had a wonderful season on the water after competing in the Beijing Olympics in 2008.
She collected a big haul of gold medals at the Sydney Rowing Club regatta, the NSW Championships, the National Championships and Australian University Games Championships. She was NSW champion in the open single, double, quad and eight, and National champion in single and double sculls.
Kehoe also won the Nell Slater Trophy at the Interstate Kings Cup regatta and won the Open and Mixed Eight and finished second in the single scull at the Australian University Championships. She also represented Australia at the 2009 World Rowing Championships at Poznan, Poland, where she teamed with Philippa Savage to finish 4th behind Poland, Great Britain and Bulgaria in the A final of the double sculls. She was also stroke of the victorious Sydney University Women’s Eight which recently defeated New Zealand in the Gallagher Great Race.
Mumm, a Graduate Certificate in Commerce student, started in all 13 matches played by the NSW Waratahs in the 2009 Super 14 rugby union competition, playing second-row on 11 occasions and twice on the blindside flank.
He earned selection in the Wallabies squad for the Tri Nations competition against South Africa and New Zealand and Bledisloe Cup matches against New Zealand and is presently on the Grand Slam tour of Great Britain and Ireland. He captained the Wallabies in their mid-week match against Gloucester.
Mumm was also a member of the Sydney University First XV which defeated Randwick in the grand final of the Shute Shield, giving the Students their fifth consecutive title in the Sydney grade competition.
Kehoe and Mum were among 33 athletes awarded Blues for 2009 and six volunteer supporters awarded University Golds.
The Blues included: Adrian Amato (volleyball), Kathryn Andrews (soccer), Alexander Belonogoff (boat), Alicia Brightwell (water polo), Charles Budd (boat), Stuart Clark (cricket), Simone Conacher (basketball), Sarah Cook (rowing), Andrew D’Amboise (swimming), Yaegan Doran (volleyball), Graeme Down (Australian football), Kylie Duff (rowing), Edward Fernon (modern pentathlon), William Forsythe (canoe/kayak), Emma Gray (swimming), William Hay (cricket), Tara Holt (athletics), Gemma Johnson, (swimming), Rosalyn Lawrence (canoe/kayak), Sam McConnell (swimming), Jacob Michael (canoe/kayak), James Nipperess (athletics), Martin Pascal (cricket), Nicholas Purnell (boat), Ishan Savran (soccer), Kiera Shiels (basketball), Sam Shore (soccer), Murray Stewart (canoe/kayak), Nathan Trist (rugby union), Edward White (boat), Erin Wilson (soccer) and Sisi Zhang (table tennis).
Golds were presented to Ian Foulsham (cricket), Leanne McKee (water polo), David Mortimer (football – rugby union), Rachel Pirie (women’s rugby), Josephine Sukkar (football – rugby union) and Leonid Zaslavsky (wrestling).
The awards were presented by Professor Jill Trewhella, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research.
The Toast to the University was made by the President of Sydney University Sport and Fitness, Bruce Ross, while the Toast to the Blues was made by Allison Shreeve, a 2002 sailing Blue.
St John’s College choir entertained with renditions of The Varsity and Gaudeamus, and Rodney Tubbs interviewed the Sydney University athletes and Blues Keesja Gofers (water polo), Lara Tamsett (athletics) and Matt Jaukovic (swimming) about their careers.

Images can be found at: