Graham Croker

Blacktown quick Kish Nadesan put paid to Sydney University’s top order at No.1 Oval on Saturday as the Students managed just 108 in reply to the visitor’s 303 in their two-day, Round 6 encounter.
Nadesan’s 15-over spell yielded 4-24, including the wickets of opener Greg Mail (4), No.3 Ben Larkin (6), Ian Moran (8) and Nick Larkin (1).
Only Tom Kierath (36 not out), Josh Toyer (17) and David Miller (12) reached double figures as the Students struggled on a pitch that provided no great demons for the visitors, who batted out 24 overs in their second innings to finish on 1-54.
The second day had started positively for the Students when they wrapped up the final three Blacktown wickets for the addition of just 15 runs.
Michael Bright (79), Paul Maraziotis (61), Kerrod Gordon (36) and Joshua Bridges (36) provided the backbone of the innings, while Mail (2-34), Nigel Cowell (2-54), Josh Toyer (2-60) and Marty Paskal (2-62) shared the wickets for the Students.
But the tide turned in the fourth over of the University innings when Nadesan clean-bowled Mail, who has been in grand early season form, coming off back-to-back centuries for NSW 2nd XI and Sydney University.
Nadesan also clean-bowled Ben Larkin and Moran and caught and bowled Nick Larkin. With fellow quick Jacob Lalor chipping in with the wicket of opener Will Hay (7), the Students found themselves 5-46 before Kierath added some dignity to the scoreboard.
The loss relegated Sydney University to sixth on the Belvedere Cup ladder, behind Eastern Suburbs, Sutherland, Campbelltown-Camden, Randwick-Petersham and UNSW.
But thanks to first innings wins by Second, Third, Fourth and Fifth Grades, Sydney University (409 points) are a close third on the Club Championship ladder behind St George (439) and Sutherland (423).
Meanwhile, Sydney University accounted for Sutherland in the second round of the Twenty20 competition played at Glenn McGrath Oval on Sunday.
Ben Larkin finished with a swashbuckling 90 not out off 58 balls, including nine boundaries, as the Students scored 6-153 off 19.5 overs in reply to the host’s 7-152 off 20 overs. Sutherland opener Phil Jacques, on the comeback trail for national selection, cracked an unbeaten 81 off 55 deliveries, including eight boundaries and three 6s.

Weekend scoreboard

First Grade: Blacktown 303 (Michael Bright 79, Paul Maraziotis 61, Kerrod Gordon 36, Joshua Bridges 36; Greg Mail 2-34, Nigel Cowell 2-54, Josh Toyer 2-60, Marty Paskal 2-62) and 1-54 (Rohit Ramanathan 24 not out, Cosikan Beadle 21) d Sydney University 108 (Tom Kierath 36 not out, Josh Toyer 17; Kish Nadesan 4-24, Michael Bright 2-17) on first innings at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss won by: Blacktown. Points: Blacktown 6, Sydney University 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 8(dec)-384 (Adam Theobald 132, Chris Jones 73, Nick Dunford 36, Tim Ley 33; Peter Spurr 4-94) d Blacktown 269 (Nick Carruthers 97, Matthew Mangan 37, Joseph Audet 31; Josh Ryan 5-54, Nick Dunford 3-67) and 0-85 (Nick Carruthers 51 not out, Mark Hill 31 not out) on first innings at Joe McAleer Oval. Toss won by: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Blacktown 0.

Third Grade: Sydney University 216 (Mark Hackett 46, Michael Culkoff 44, Suda Sivapalan 37, Daniel Ward 34; Nathan Sowter 6-39) d Blacktown 161 (Mitchell Watterson 86, Ben Dooley 28; Michael Culkoff 4-38, Josh Lawrence 2-20, Alisdair Grant 2-38) on first innings at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss won by: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Blacktown 0.

Fourth Grade: Sydney University 8(dec)-262 (Nick Fitzgerald 131, Alex Barwick 59; Jason Fulwood 3-49) d Blacktown 105 (Dean Coxall 32; Daniel Bragg 5-27, Sanjiev Khalko 3-18) on first innings at Jim Hanshaw Oval. Toss won by: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Blacktown 0.

Fifth Grade: Sydney University 5(dec)-309 (Jack Lawson 78, Paul O’Halloran 62, Jack Hammond 54, Chris Davey 45; Neil Bray 2-57) d Blacktown 133 (Grant McCartin 25; Paul O’Halloran 4-35, Greg Metcalfe 2-32, Ed Quoyle 2-33) and 3-123 (Mitchell Carruthers 50 not out) on first innings at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss won by: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Blacktown 0.

Twenty20 Cup – Round 2

Sydney University 6-153 (Ben Larkin 90 not out, Ian Moran 25; Nic Maddison 2-21, Steven Smith 2-26) off 19.5 overs d Sutherland 152 (Phil Jaques 81 not out, Steven Smith 29; Marty Paskal 2-22, Tom Kierath 2-39) at Glenn McGrath Oval. Toss: Sutherland. Points: Sydney University 2, Sutherland 0.