Graham Croker

Sydney University and NSW Waratahs five-eighth Daniel Halangahu was named Sydney University Football Club’s best and fairest player and best back in First Grade for 2009 at the annual awards dinner held at St Andrew’s College on Friday night.
Despite missing the early part of the Shute Shield season while playing in the Super 14 competition, Halangahu posted enough points in his club competition commitments to win the award.
Halangahu stamped his mark at provincial level on NSW’s three-match Super 14 tour of South Africa earlier this year when the Waratahs became the first team to win all games in the republic.
He continued his good form throughout the Shute Shield season, amassing 193 points for the year from four tries, 55 goals, 20 penalties and a field goal.
The field goal was potted in Sydney University’s 24-19 win over Randwick in the grand final – a match that rounded off a wonderful season the five-eighth.
Inside-centre Tom Carter was named Player of the Finals, Ben McCalman won the Michael Griffin Cup for the Players’ Player award, and Dan Farrell was named Clubman of the Year.

Team Awards for 2009

1st XV Best Back 2009
Daniel Halangahu

1st XV Best Forward 2009
Patrick McCutcheon

1st XV Leading Points Scorer 2009
Daniel Halangahu 210 points

1st XV Leading Try Scorer 2009
Nathan Trist 21 tries

2nd XV Best Forward 2009
Hugh Hawkins

2nd XV Best Back 2009
Richie Finau

3rd XV Best Forward 2009
James McMahon

3rd XV Best Back 2009
Josh Dillon

4th XV Best Forward 2009
Lenny Pereira

4th XV Best Back 2009
Tim Cohen

5th XV Best Forward 2009
Daniel Simpson

5th XV Best Back 2009
Takahiro Yoshida

1st Colts XV Best Forward 2009
Tom Boidin

1st Colts XV Best Back 2009
Nick Phipps

Bernard Foley

2nd Colts XV Best Forward 2009
Alex Siviour

2nd Colts XV Best Back 2009
Tom English

3rd Colts XV Best Forward 2009
Ifea Paea

3rd Colts XV Best Back 2009
Jack Hammond

Craig Fear Encouragement Awards

Encouragement Award (Grade) 2009
Sam Hosking

Encouragement Award (Colts) 2009
Brad Panayiotou

Achievement Awards

Most Improved (Grade) 2009
Nick Edwards

Most Improved (Colts) 2009
Jack Marples

Most Promising Colt 2009
Clinton Sills

1st Colts XV Best Fresher 2009
Alex Rokobaro

Player of the Finals 2009
Tom Carter

Major Club Awards

Best & Fairest 2009
Daniel Halangahu

Clubman of the Year 2009
Daniel Farrell

Colts Clubman of the Year 2009
Peter Playford

2009 Club Captain
Patrick McCutcheon

Volunteer of the Year 2009
Ray Hudd

Michael Griffin Cup
SUFC Players Player 2009
Ben McCalman