Graham Croker

There was good news and bad news on the cricketing front at Sydney University over the weekend, with Second Grade winning back-to-back titles and First and Third grades losing their finals on the first innings.
First Grade never recovered a first day disaster when they lost the toss and were sent in to bat at Hurstville Oval.
The Students were all out for 80, with David Miller remaining 29 not out while Stephen Green collected 6-24 from 17 overs.
After batting out a session on Friday and all day Saturday, St George were all out on Sunday morning for an imposing 360, with Leon Zammit (75 not out), Philip Wells (71), Graeme Rummans (54), Peter Wooden (42), Trent Copeland (38) and Steven Cazzulino (20) all making strong contributions despite the efforts of Marty Paskal who finished with 7-68 and Stuart Clark who collected 2-40 off 32 overs.
Needing 281 just to make St George bat again, Sydney University were 4-110 before the captains agreed to call an end to the game after lunch on Sunday.
St George became the first team to record back-to-back First Grade premierships since Bankstown-Canterbury achieved the feat in 1993-94 and 1994-95.
St George fast bowler, Steven Green, was awarded the Benaud Medal as Player of the Final with his 6-24 in the first innings and 2-22 in the second innings.
Green was also the competition’s leading bowler with 66 wickets, while St George captain, Graeme Rummans was the leading run scorer with 1024.
After losing the toss to Penrith and being sent in to bat at Bankstown Oval, Sydney University Second Grade had to rely on some fine bowling performances after posting a precarious 161 – the bulk of which came from Adam Theobald (42), Dave Butchart (28) and Nick Dunford (21).
Josh Ryan (3-13), Josh Toyer (3-19), Nick Dunford (2-11) and Tim Ley (2-12) put Penrith to the sword, with the westerners all out for 58.
Theobald top-scored with 99 in Sydney University’s second innings of 259, with Penrith 6-123 when the match was called off.
Sydney University Thirds also lost the toss and were given first use of the University’s No.1 Oval. They fared little better than the First and Second grades in their first innings, being all out for 139 despite the efforts of James Crowley (37), Stu McLean (29) and Liam Robertson (25).
Gordon won the title after scoring 5-224 to post a first innings win.


Sydney Grade competition – Finals

First Grade: St George 360 (Leon Zammit 75 not out, Philip Wells 71, Graeme Rummans 54, Peter Wooden 42, Trent Copeland 38, Steven Cazzulino 20; Marty Paskal 7-68. Stuart Clark 2-40) d Sydney University 80 (David Miller 29 not out; Steven Green 6-24, Trent Copeland 3-36) and 4-110 (Greg Mail 48 not out, Ben Larkin 31; Steven Green 2-22, Trent Copeland 2-33) on the first innings at Hurstville Oval. Toss won by: St George. Batted first: Sydney University. Belvidere Cup: St George. Benaud Medal for Player of the Final: Steven Green.

Second Grade: Sydney University 161 (Adam Theobald 42, Dave Butchart 28, Nick Dunford 21; Tim McKay 4-43, Paul Goldsmith 2-29, Jarrod Lee 2-34) and 259 (Adam Theobald 99, Kevin Desai 55; Paul Goldsmith 2-28, Warren Buttigeig 2-32) d Penrith 58 (Jarryd Blake 31; Josh Ryan 3-13, Josh Toyer 3-19, Nick Dunford 2-11, Tim Ley 2-12) and 6-123 (Jarryd Blake 65, Brett Russell 21; Tim Ley 4-46) on first innings at Bankstown Oval. Toss: Penrith. Batted first: Sydney University.

Third Grade: Gordon 5-224 (James Ledgerwood 72, Damon Livermore 43, Brett Rosen 32, Jordan Liddle 25, Hamish Angus 22; Brendon Smith 2-58) d Sydney University 139 (James Crowley 37, Stu McLean 29, Liam Robertson 25; Will Sweeney 3-36, Nick Medcalf 3-42, Nick Cheadle 2-6) on the first innings at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Sydney University.

Fourth Grade: Fairfield-Liverpool declared winners after drawing with Gordon.

Fifth Grade: Campbelltown-Camden defeated Randwick-Petersham on the first innings.