Graham Croker

Sydney University has four representatives in a 19-strong Australian women’s cricket squad named yesterday to contest the World Twenty20 championships in England in June followed by a full tour of England.
Universities Cricket Club members Lisa Sthalekar and Alex and Kate Blackwell are in the squad along with Ellyse Perry, who is studying at the university.
The players will go into camp later this month and again in May before a squad is named for the championships.
Selectors have invested in youth after the Australians missed out on last month’s World Cup final.
Alyssa Healy, Elyse Villani and Rachael Haynes are the three new faces in the squad for 2009-10, which boasts six players aged 19 or under.
Several players from the World Cup squad that finished third at a tournament they were widely expected to win were either unavailable or have been dropped.
The next home series on Australia’s schedule will be the annual Rose Bowl series against New Zealand in early 2010.

The 2009-10 Australian women’s squad: Sarah Andrews (NSW), Alex Blackwell (NSW), Kate Blackwell (NSW), Jessica Cameron (Vic), Lauren Ebsary (WA), Sarah Edwards (Vic), Rene Farrell (WA), Jodie Fields (Qld), Rachael Haynes (Vic), Alyssa Healy (NSW), Delissa Kimmince (Qld), Shelley Nitschke (SA), Erin Osborne (NSW), Ellyse Perry (NSW), Kirsten Pike (Qld), Leah Poulton (NSW), Karen Rolton (SA), Lisa Sthalekar (NSW), Elyse Villani (Vic).