Graham Croker

Sydney University’s push for the 2008-09 Sydney Grade Cricket first grade title has been bolstered by the return from injury of Australian fast bowler Stuart Clark.
Clark took 3-26 off 10 tight overs in Sydney University’s eight-wicket win over Fairfield-Liverpool in their limited overs fixture at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Saturday and indicated he is keen to regain his Test spot for the Ashes tour later in the year.
After battling an elbow injury for most of the summer, Clark returned to club cricket two weeks ago and had his best hit-out for the season against Fairfield-Liverpool in the final competition round.
After completing the Sydney season, Clark said he would be playing for Kent in the England county tournament in his bid to win an Ashes berth.
Sydney University finished fourth on 81 points in the Sydney Grade competition, behind minor premiers Bankstown (97), St George (89) and Sydney (83). Eastern Suburbs (76) and Penrith (75) also made the qualifying final series that will begin played this Saturday and Sunday, with the Students pitted against Sydney.
Sydney University broke an 89-year drought when they won the Belvidere Cup for the first grade title in the 2002-03 season. They won the title again in 2005-06 and are a good show of adding another title this season with Clark and NSW openers Ed Cowan and Greg Mail all available for the finals.
The Students have also made the qualifying finals in Second, Third and Fifth grades and narrowly missed winning another Club Championship. Penrith won the Club Championship with 1533 points, tipping out Sydney University on 1520.

Sydney Grade Cricket – Round 15 (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Sydney University 2-156 off 37 overs (Ed Cowan 72, Will Hay 62; Phillip Hangyasi 2-26) d Fairfield-Liverpool 155 off 49.3 overs (Matt Harivel 48, Russell Wilcoxon 36; Stuart Clark 3-26, Marty Paskal 2-16, Ian Moran 2-22, Greg Mail 2-32) on first innings with 1 bonus point at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss won by: Sydney University. Batted first: Fairfield-Liverpool. Sydney University to meet Sydney in qualifying final on March 21-22.
Second Grade: Sydney University 9-210 off 50 overs (Nick Larkin 54; Josh Clinghan 2-36) d Fairfield-Liverpool 3-66 off 27 overs (Jeremy Cashman 34 not out) on superior run rate after rain stopped play at Rosedale Oval. Toss: Fairfield-Liverpool. Batted first: Sydney University. Sydney University to meet Sutherland in qualifying final.
Third Grade: Sydney University 119 (Dave Jessop 39, Mark Hackett 33; J Ali 2-18, M Wilson 2-20, P Novacevski 2-36) d Fairfield-Liverpool 102 (D Hayes 22, M Williams 20; Nigel Cowell 4-20, Michael Culkoff 3-26) on first innings at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Fairfield-Liverpool. Batted first: Sydney University. Sydney University to meet Eastern Suburbs in qualifying final.
Fourth Grade: Fairfield-Liverpool 224 (T Kennedy 72, B Lack 62; Joe Kazaglis 4-50, Ed Freeman 3-37) d Sydney University 187 (Matt Skinner 37, James Walsh 29 not out) on first innings at Fairfield Oval. Sydney University finished 8th.
Fifth Grade: Sydney University 200 (Jack Hammond 75, Jack Hill 48; B Clark 3-31) d Fairfield-Liverpool 168 (J Newell 48, B Clark 39; J Hammond 2-41) on first innings at St Paul’s College Oval. Sydney University of meet Randwick-Petersham in qualifying final.