Graham Croker

Sydney University rowers won 16 gold medals, 11 silver and 13 bronze at the 2009 Australian Championships held at Lake Barrington, Tasmania.
Highlighting the golds were Sally Keho in the Open Women’s Single Scull, Bronwen Watson in the Open Women’s Lightweight Single Scull and the men’s eight – featuring seven crew from Sydney University – for the King’s Cup. Stroked by Terrence Alfred, the NSW crew also included Fergus Pragnell, Sam Loch, Nick Hudson, Richard Allsop and Matt Ryan, with coxswain Toby Lister.
Kehoe also teamed with Sarah Cook to win the Open Women’s Double Scull, while Watson also won golds in the Open Lightweight Double and the Open Lightweight Quad.
Nick Hudson collected golds in the Open Men’s Double Scull and the Open Men’s Quad Scull, Liz Kell was a member of the winning Open Women’s Coxless Four, and Fergus Pragnell collected gold in the Open Men’s Coxless Four.
Ed White, Charles Budd and Ed DeCarvalho won gold as members of the winning Open Men’s Lightweight Quad Scull, White and Budd also triumphed in the Under 23 Lightweight Pair; Richard Allsop was a member of the winning Under 23 Men’s Coxed Four and the Under 23 Eight that also included Alistair Matthews, James Goswell, Nick Purnell, Andrew Conolly, Mitch Estens, Will Glibert, Ryan Edwards and cox Toby Lister, and Charlotte Walters was a member of the winning Under 23 Women’s Eight.
SUBC coach Phil Bourguignon said 21 Sydney University rowers had qualified for national team selection.
“Aside from the medallists, there was an even bigger contribution from Sydney University rowers, many in crews that finished fourth<" he said.
“In a week of testing conditions, all Sydney University rowers acted with and exhibited friendly sportsmanship and professionalism. There were stand-out athletes as well as stand-out performances – not always gold medals.”
Sydney University results included:

Open Women’s Single Sally KEHOE
Open Women’s Lwt Single Bronwen WATSON
Open Women’s Double Scull Sally KEHOE / Sarah COOK
Open Women’s Lwt Double Bronwen WATSON
Open Women’s Lwt Quad Bronwen WATSON
Open Men’s Double Scull Nick HUDSON
Open Men’s Quad Scull Nick HUDSON
Open Women’s Coxless Four Liz KELL
Open Men’s Coxless Four Fergus PRAGNELL
Open Men’s Lwt Quad Scull Ed WHITE / Charles BUDD / Ed DeCARVALHO

U23 Men’s Lwt Pair Ed WHITE / Charles BUDD
U23 Men’s Coxed Four Richard ALLSOP
U23 Women’s VIII Charlotte WALTERS
U23 Men’s VIII Richard ALLSOP / Alistair MATTHEWS / James GOSWELL / Nick PURNELL / Andrew CONOLLY / Mitch ESTENS / Will GILBERT / Ryan EDWARDS / Toby LISTER (cox)

Women’s Single – (Nell Slatter) Sally KEHOE – (Queensland)
Kings Cup VIII Terrence ALFRED / Richard ALLSOP / Matt RYAN / Sam LOCH / Fergus PRAGNELL / Nick HUDSON / Toby Lister (cox) – (New South Wales)

Open Men’s Single Scull Jeremy STEVENSON
Open Men’s Coxless Four Richard ALLSOP
Open Women’s VIII Sally KEHOE / Sarah COOK / Liz KELL / Charlotte WALTERS / Chloe O’REGAN / Ailsa TREMAYNE / Emma COSTELLO / Bronwen WATSON / Toby LISTER (cox)
U23 Women’s Single Scull Charlotte WALTERS
U23 Women’s Double Scull Charlotte WALTERS
U23 Women’s Quad Scull Charlotte WALTERS
U23 Men’s Quad Scull Sasha BELONOGOFF
U23 Men’s Coxed Four Nick PURNELL / James GOSWELL / Andrew CONOLLY / Alistair MATTHEWS / Ed CLARKE (cox)
U23 Men’s Lwt Coxless Four Ed WHITE / Charles BUDD / Ed DeCARVALHO
U19 Women’s Quad Scull Beatrix SHELDRICK

Men’s Single Scull Jeremy STEVENSON – (Western Australia)
Women’s VIII – Queens Cup Sally KEHOE – (Queensland)

Open Men’s Pair Fergus PRAGNELL
Open Women’s Lwt Double Kylie DUFF
Open Women’s Coxless Four Charlotte WALTERS
Open Men’s Coxless Four Jeremy STEVENSON
Open Women’s Lwt Quad Kylie DUFF
Open Men’s Coxed Four Brodie BUCKLAND / Terrence ALFRED / Toby DANKBAAR / Mitch ESTENS / Toby LISTER
U23 Men’s Lwt Single Scull Ed DeCARVALHO
U23 Women’s Coxless Four Emma COOK / Chloe O’REGAN
U23 Women’s Quad Scull Emma COOK / Chloe O’REGAN

Women’s Single Scull Sarah COOK – (Australian Capital Territory)
Women’s Lwt Quad Scull Kylie DUFF – (Queensland)
Men’s Youth VIII Sasha BELONOGOFF – (Queensland)
Kings Cup VIII Jeremy STEVENSON – (Western Australia)