NSWIS awards for Stewart and Franklin

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. NSWIS awards for Stewart and Franklin

Graham Croker

Wheelchair basketballer Sarah Stewart and water polo representative Trent Franklin were rewarded for their efforts in 2008 at the annual New South Wales Institute of Sport awards.
Stewart, who came home with a bronze medal from the Beijing Olympic Games, won the NSWIS Academic Excellence award.
A Sydney University Sports Scholarship holder, she is working towards a PhD in philosophy with a thesis on “Mental Content”.
Others in contention for the award were fellow Sydney University Sports Scholarship holder Alex Croak, who competed in diving at the Beijing Games, cyclist Kaarle McCulloch, sailor Evan Walker and winter sports competitor Aimee Watson.
Franklin, who also competed for Australia at the 2008 Beijing Games, won the Career Development award for running his own insurance business and studying for a masters degree while training and competing for Australia and the Sydney University Lions in the men’s national water polo league.
Others in contention for the Career Development award were Kyla Bremner, Sydney University’s Olympic wrestling representative, Lachlan Milne, Sydney University’s Olympic canoe representative, rower Rob Chisholm and swimmer Sophie Edington.