Graham Croker

Sydney University First XI slumped to 11th on the Sydney Grade cricket competition ladder after six rounds with a 145-run first innings loss to Bankstown at University No.1 Oval on Saturday.
Having declared at their overnight score of 8-334, thanks largely to Jerry Cassell’s 133, the visitors tore through the Sydney University batting line-up on day two, with Jackson Bird 4-41 and Aaron Bird (2-66) being mainly responsible for the hosts being all out for 190.
Mitch Cook (41), David Miller (36), Matthew Morgan (31), Dave Butchart (23) and Will Hay (22) all made healthy starts for the University, but the one big innings required to overhaul Bankstown proved elusive as the Birds pecked away.
The six competition points kept Bankstown in joint leadership of the competition with Gordon and St George on 36. Penrith and Hawkesbury share the next rung of the ladder on 34 points, while the Students are perched at the end of a crowded third rung on 25 points along with Eastern Suburbs, Fairfield-Liverpool, Western Suburbs, Blacktown and Camden-Campbelltown.
With first innings wins in Third Grade and Fifth Grade at the weekend, the news is more encouraging for Sydney University on the Club Championship ladder, where Penrith hold sway on 607, followed by St George (569), Gordon (561) and Sydney University (555).
Sydney University Third Grade head their competition ladder, while Seconds are 8th, Fourths are 11th and Fifths are 6th.
Meanwhile, Sydney University’s Poidevin-Grey (Under 21) side suffered their first defeat of the season on Sunday, and it was a tight affair against Blacktown at Joe McAlee Oval.
Having won the toss and batted, Blacktown rattled up 4-257 off 50 overs, thanks to big contributions from Kerrod Gordon 102, Nick Carruthers 79 and Grant Crompton 28.
Brothers Nick and Ben Larkin opened the Sydney University innings and had the Students in a strong position before Ben was out for 44. Nick went on to make 77 off 110 balls but Sydney University fell six runs shy of collecting the points when they finished at 9-252 off 50 overs.
Dave Mills (58) and a late order 26 not out from Tim Ley just failed to get them over the line.

Sydney Grade competition – Round 6 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Bankstown 8(dec)-334 (Jerry Cassell 133, Dean Waugh 63, Pat Darwen 48, Aaron Bird 37; Tim Ley 2-71, Nick Dunford 2-74, Mitch Cook 2-101) d Sydney University 190 (Mitch Cook 41, David Miller 36, Matthew Morgan 31, Dave Butchart 23, Will Hay 22; Jackson Bird 4-41, Aaron Bird 2-66) on first innings at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss won by Bankstown.
Second Grade: Bankstown 9-240 (Steven Wise 45, Dean McGee 43, Byron Hackshall 32; Michael Culkoff 2-39, Kevin Desai 2-46, Troy Stanley 2-47) d Sydney University 238 (Dave Butchart 115, Richard Berrington 34, Josh Toyer 24; Michael Polson 3-34, Byron Hackshall 3-57) on first innings at Bankstown Oval. Toss: Sydney University.
Third Grade: Sydney University 262 (Mark Hackett 66, James Walsh 63, Huw McKay 42, Brendon Smith 30 not out; Daniel Moy 5-20, Matthew Smith 2-62) d Bankstown 229 (Matthew Hopkins 61, Luke Reece 39, Tristan Muir 38; Dave Jessop 3-31, Brendon Smith 3-49) on first innings at Sydney University No.2. Toss: Bankstown.
Fourth Grade: Bankstown 6-253 (Mitch Baker 84, Ryan Bevan 80 not out, Curtis Leman 50; Chris Dan 2-53) d Sydney University 247 (Matt Skinner 65, Dougal Robinson 59, Pete Jordan 47, Josh Lawrence 34; Matthew Clifton 5-32, Chris Bennett 2-1, Dean Bush 2-25) on first innings at Grahame Thomas Oval. Toss: Sydney University.
Fifth Grade: Sydney University 8-183 (Ed Freeman 55, Jono Mornsen 39; Luke De Celis 8-44) d Bankstown 135 (Ryan Donovan 59, Mark Dawes 23; Greg Metcalf 4-23, Steve Green 2-39) on first innings at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Bankstown.
Poidevin-Grey Shield (Under 21) – Round 3
Blacktown 4-257 off 50 overs (Kerrod Gordon 102, Nick Carruthers 79, Grant Crompton 28; Nigel Cowell 1-57, Josh Toyer 1-68)) d Sydney University 9-252 off 50 overs (Nick Larkin 74, Dave Miller 58, Ben Larkin 44, Tim Ley 26 not out; Daniel Jackson 4-63) by five runs at Joe McAleer Oval. Toss won by: Blacktown. Batted first: Blacktown.