Graham Croker
Twenty/20, the game that has grabbed the attention of cricket lovers on the sub-continent, will be the order of the day at Sydney University this Sunday, November 9.
Sydney University Cricket Club will host one of the first rounds of Sydney Grade Cricket Twenty/20 competition for the 2008-09 season, with the hosts taking on Western Suburbs, Sydney (formerly Balmain) and Gordon.
All of the 20 teams in the competition will play in five groups of four, with Sydney University being one of the five hosts for the first round.
Each host team will play three matches – against the visiting three teams. Matches at Sydney University will commence at 9.30am at No.1 and No.2 ovals.
The matches this weekend will determine who advances to the quarter-finals and semi-finals on Sunday, December 14.
The two winning teams from that day will meet in the first Grade Power Education Twenty/20 final, to be played under floodlights at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday, March 1.
And there is plenty of incentive to advance to the final, with the winning team to receive a trip to Jaipur, India, where they will complete in several Twenty/20 matches.
SUCC is hoping for a big attendance of supporters and those who have never been to a Twenty/20 match to be at Sydney University on Sunday. The club has organised free parking and there will be a barbecue and other foods and drinks available throughout the day. And, the Grandstand bar will be open for drinks.
With a trip to Jaipur in mind, SUCC has hand-picked a 15-man squad to take on Gordon, Wests and Sydney.
A SUCC spokesman says the team is a combination of power hitters and bowlers with a spattering of tactical nous and cunningness.
“This is sure to be a force to be reckoned with,” the spokesman says.
The SUCC team is:
Eddie Cowan (c)
Will Hay
Mark Faraday
Nick Larkin
Ben Larkin
Tim Harrington
Richard Berrington
James Walsh
James Crowley
Jack Benson
Tom Kierath
Marty Paskal
Tim Ley
Nick Dunford
Josh Toyer

The program for Sunday, November 9
Round 1
Sydney University v Western Suburbs at Sydney University 1 – 09:30
Gordon v Sydney at Sydney University 2 – 09:30

Round 2

Sydney v Sydney University at Sydney University 1 – 12:30
Gordon v Western Suburbs at Sydney University 2 – 12:30

Round 3
Gordon v Sydney University at Sydney University 1 – 15:45
Sydney v Western Suburbs at Sydney University 2 – 15:45