Graham Croker

A Greg Mail century helped Sydney University take the points in the opening round of the 2008-09 Sydney Grade cricket competition, a limited overs match against Northern District, at Waitara Oval on Saturday.
The Sydney University skipper and opener posted 125 as the Students chased down the formidable target of 4-300 set by Northern District.
He hit 14 boundaries in the 145-ball innings and shared partnerships of 55 with opener Ed Cowan and 191 with ever reliable No.3 Ian Moran as Sydney University rattled up 5-301 off 49.1 overs – the highest-scoring match of the round.
But it was left to the Sydney University middle order to get them over the line, with Mark Faraday finishing with 32 not out off 20 balls and Dave Miller 10 off six deliveries.
All-rounder Moran had earlier taken 2-56 off 10 overs as NSW representative Dominic Thornley set Waitara Oval alight with 129 off 124 balls, including 10 boundaries and three sixes.
He shared a 193-run partnership with opener Clinton Witt, who scored 103 off 135 balls, with 16 boundaries.
Mail, a Sydney University Sports Scholarship holder and science student, has had a prodigious three seasons with the club. He averaged 80.25 in scoring 963 runs in the 2005-06 season, broke an 87-year-old club record in scoring 1225 in 2006-07, and backed that up with 878 in the 2007-08 season.
After his efforts on Saturday, those figures could be under threat this year. That is if he is available; he is a member of the NSW Blues squad.

Sydney Grade Cricket 2008-09 – Round 1 (Limited overs)

First Grade: Sydney University 5-301 off 49.1 overs (Greg Mail 125, Ian Moran 81, Mark Faraday 32, Ed Cowan 25; Michael Hogan 4-42) d Northern District 4-300 off 50 overs (Dominic Thornley 129, Clinton Witt 103, David Ball 25; Ian Moran 2-56) on first innings at Waitara Oval. Toss: Northern District. Batted first: Northern District.
Second Grade: Sydney University 6-189 (Nick Larkin 80, Kevin Desai 55; Will Aplin 2-27, Dylan Robertson 2-45) d Northern District 7-188 off 50 overs (Rob Watts 101, Jonathan Whealing 30; Tim Ley 2-28, Josh Toyer 2-51) at Sydney University No.2. Sydney University 1 bonus point. Toss: Northern District. Batted first: Northern District.
Third Grade: Sydney University 6-233 off 50 overs d Northern District 185 at Asquith Oval. Toss: Sydney University.
Fourth Grade: Sydney University 7-217 d Northern District 9-192 on first innings at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Northern District. Batted first: Northern District.
Fifth Grade: Northern District (scores unavailable) d Sydney University 5-216, off 50 overs, on first innings at Somerville Park. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.