Graham Croker

Sydney University Football Club has six representatives in the 26-man Junior Waratah squad for a 10-day development tour of Fiji in October.
The University representatives include five-eighth Daniel Halangahu, who was man-of-the-match in last week’s Shute Shield grand final win by the Students, second-rower Will Caldwell, winger Ed Jenkins, outside-centre Mitch Inman, halfback Nathan Sievert and prop Jeremy Tilse.
And NSW head coach Chris Hickey has appointed Halangahu and Caldwell, along with Sam Norton-Knight, to lead the squad for their two matches against Nadi and the Fiji Warriors.
“We have got a really good combination of youth and experience in the squad, and I know Daniel, Sam and Will are looking forward to leading the team,” Hickey said.
“They’ve all been involved in Development Tours in the past so they know what to expect and realise how important this trip will be to our 2009 campaign.”
Hickey said that while the trip is relatively short, the competition will be tough and the off-field aspects throughout the preparation and the tour are crucial to the Waratahs tour.
“We’re under no illusions – this is going to be a really tough tour,” the coach said. “Nadi won the national championship last weekend and the Fiji Warriors are a representative team which plays together in the IRB Pacific Rugby Cup.
“They’re going to be well-drilled, so we really need to use the next week-and-a-half to prepare as a team and to gel as a squad.”
The squad features all available Super 14 contracted players not involved in the Wallaby Spring Tour, however Sydney University’s Tom Carter and David Dennis, along with Matt Carraro and Rob Horne, were not considered due to injury.
Hickey said Sydney University was rewarded for its Shute Shield-winning season with six players selected, while more than a third of the squad hails from the four western Sydney clubs of Parramatta, Eastwood, West Harbour and Penrith.
It is the first NSW tour to Fiji since 1988.

2008 Development Tour of Fiji
Backs: Ben Batger (Eastwood), Kurtley Beale (Northern Suburbs), Daniel Halangahu (Sydney University), Ed Jenkins (Sydney University)/John Sinisa (West Harbour), Mitch Inman (Sydney University), Rowan Kellam (Eastwood), Ratu Nasiganiyavi (Randwick), Sam Norton-Knight (Northern Suburbs), Nathan Sievert (Sydney University), Andrew Smith (Northern Suburbs), Jeremy Su’a (Penrith), David Tautaiolefue (West Harbour).
Forwards: Will Caldwell (Sydney University), Ben Coridas (Eastwood), Kane Douglas (Southern Districts), Ofa Fainga’anuku (Gordon), Damien Fitzpatrick (Eastwood), Elvis Levi (Penrith), Steve Mafi (Parramatta), Rob McMicken (Eastern Suburbs), Ben Mowen (Randwick), Dan Palmer (Southern Districts), Beau Robinson (Warringah), Chris Thomson (Northern Suburbs), Jeremy Tilse (Sydney University).