11.09.2008 – Graham Croker

Sydney University and Australian fast bowler Stuart Clark has been selected 12th man in the International Cricket Council (ICC) 2008 Test Team of the Year announced yesterday.

The Test Team of the Year includes: Graeme Smith (RSA, capt), Virender Sehwag (IND), Mahela Jayawardene (SRI), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WIS), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Jacques Kallis (RSA), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI, wkt), Brett Lee (AUS), Ryan Sidebottom (ENG), Dale Steyn (RSA), Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI). 12th man: Stuart Clark (AUS).

Since making his debut against South Africa in Cape Town in 2006, Clark has taken 81 wickets in 18 Tests at a miserly average of 21.46.

He was named Player of the Series when he emerged as the leading wicket-taker in the three-Test Series against South Africa, with 20 wickets at an average of 15.85.

After playing one Test in Bangladesh, Clark was then selected to play in the 2006-07 Ashes series in Australia. He was named Bowler of the Series after taking 26 wickets at 17 as Australia retained the Ashes.

He has also played 36 one-day internationals, taking 50 wickets at 27.82.

Clark, a Sydney University Sports Scholarship holder and Master of Commerce student, is sure to be one of the first bowlers selected for Australia’s imminent tour of India.