Sydney Uni Swimming Club Championships

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Sydney Uni Swimming Club Championships


On Saturday 6th September, 72 members competed in the second annual Sydney University Swimming Club Championships. This was an increase of 22 members from last year. The afternoon was a wonderful success and a great day was had by all. The atmosphere was electric from the first event, the 25m freestyle to the last event, a 10 x 50m Freestyle Club relay.

50 of the 72 swimmers swam personal best times, some swimmers improving up to 16 seconds. What a fantastic achievement.

Jayce Carrano and Eleni Knapp, both 11 year olds, qualified for their first Metropolitan Championships, to be held in December at SOPAC, Homebush.

Five Club records were set during the afternoon with Imogen Brent setting three new records in the eight year old age group: 50m Freestyle (36.97), 50m Backstroke (43.72)and 50m Butterfly (44.94). Taylor Aitkin set the other two Club records in the 16 years age group: 100m Freestyle (1:02.97) and 100m Breaststroke (1:39.58).

The day would not have been a success without parents assisting with timekeeping, recording and marshalling. A big thank you to all our officials, but in particular, our visiting officials Felicity and Robert Halliday and Beverly Bos. Our sincere thanks to Fred Etter, our Club photographer, and to Gillian Blackburn who catered for the social function afterwards, feeding the hoards of famished swimmers and officials alike!

Medals were awarded on the night for 1st, 2nd and 3rd placings in each age group. Trophies will be awarded at our Club Presentation Day on the 19th October.

Congratulations to the Wise relay team who narrowly won the 10 x 50m relay (David Wise, Alistaire Pickles, Elenii Knapp, Phoebe Davies, Emelye Seddon, Jane Spencer, Bronte Gray, Damon Wade, Callun Seddon).

It was truly a rewarding day of competition with coach, Vanessa Smith, also impressed by the Club spirit evident on pool deck, from the six year olds to our oldest High Performance Squad members.

Congratulations to all concerned.


Download the full results here.