30.06.2008 – Graham Croker

The announcement on Friday of Taniele Gofers and Nikita Cuffe in the Australian women’s water polo team for the Beijing Olympic Games lifted Sydney University’s representation to 13 athletes with the possibility of another eight when other teams are finalised.

Already confirmed in Australian teams are rowers Liz Kell, Brooke Pratley, Marty Rabjohns, Jeremy Stevenson, Matt Ryan, Frances Hegarty and Terrence Alfred (reserve); Kyla Bremner (wrestling); Robin Bell (canoe); Lachlan Milne (kayak); Taniele Gofers and Nikita Cuffe (water polo); Alexandra Croak (diving) and Lachlan Renshaw (athletics).

When the men’s water polo team is announced this week, Trent Franklin, Thomas Whalan, Sam McGregor and Robert Maitland are strong contenders to be in the squad, while Natalie Porter and Alicia Poto (women’s basketball), Sarah Stewart (wheelchair basketball) and Angie Ballard (wheelchair athletics) also have genuine claims for Beijing berths.

Sydney University will also be represented at the Games through Dr. Donna O’Connor (women’s basketball trainer); Dr. Grace Bryant (women’s water polo team physician) Ryan Moar (women’s water polo assistant coach); Dr. Leo Jeffcott (equestrian veterinarian) and alumnus John Coates, president of the Australian Olympic Committee.