Two Lions in national squad

Graham Croker

Two members of the Sydney University Lions National Water Polo League team have been selected in a 16-man National Junior Men’s (Under-20) squad to tour Europe.
Scott Nicholson and Lachlan Hollis are in the squad named on Wednesday to play tournaments in England, Hungary, Serbia and Slovakia in August.
While Hollis has the experience of captaining the national junior team last year, Nicholson will be on a voyage of discovery.
A first year Bachelor of Arts student and Sydney University Sport and Fitness Sports Scholarship holder, he will be travelling overseas for the first time.
Which is why European History and Italian are included with American History and English on his first year Arts workload.
A workload made tougher by 7-8 water polo sessions and 3-4 gym sessions each week with the NSW Institute of Sport at Homebush and playing with Sydney University in the Sydney Winter League during the NWPL off-season.
Still living at home with his parents at Como West, Nicholson had left home at 5am for training at Homebush on the morning of this interview. He then attended university all day and was scheduled to play a Winter League match at 9.15pm before another late night drive home.
It’s the sort of dedication – along with a long-held dream – that helps earn national selection.
“I started playing when I was 11 after watching Australia play at the 2000 Sydney Olympics,” he said. “I was hooked, so I joined up with the Cronulla club while attending Kirrawee High School.
“I linked up with Sydney University Lions this year when I enrolled at the University and won a Sports Scholarship. It’s a great experience playing with Trent Franklin (Australian vice-captain) and the boys.
“The club has a great tradition and has produced some famous Australian players over the years. It’s my dream to get to the Olympics, whether it be London in 2012 or four years later.”
And, yes, he did select Italian and European History with a view to travelling.

National Junior Men’s Squad for the 2008 European Tour:
Goalkeepers: James Clark (NSW), Carl Zvekan (VIC).
Centre Forwards/Backs: Joel Davis (NSW), Corrie Eames (NSW), Lachlan Hollis (NSW), Tyler Martin (NSW), Scott Nicholson (NSW), Joel Swift (WA)
Drivers: Chris Dyson (NSW), Mitch Emery (NSW), Jarrod Gilchrist (VIC), Daniel Lawrence (WA), Ross O’Brien (NSW), Aidan Roach (NSW), Sam Robertson (QLD), Daniel Young (QLD).