19.05.2008 – Nick Bailey

Sydney University secured their first win of the 2008 NSW Tertiary Students Rugby League season on Sunday, upsetting the top of the table Norwest Polecats 30-20 at Kellyville Oval on Saturday.

As the 2007 Second Division Premiers, Uni were promoted to the First Division this year, replacing relegated Macquarie Uni, and had gone winless in 2008 over the first five weeks of the competition, drawing once and suffering numerous narrow losses.

The win over Norwest takes Uni off the bottom of the ladder, and leaves them just four points off the competition lead, a position currently occupied by the Polecats.

Having last won the First Division title in 2002, Sydney Uni are one of the more successful sides in the competition’s history, having also won the 1970, 78 and 2000 First Division titles, as well as the 1974-78 and 1995 Second Division premierships to go with their 2007 triumph.

Uni have the bye this weekend, before taking on Charles Sturt University (Bathurst), in Bathurst, on the 31st of May at 3pm.

Season Summary so far:

Round One
West Sydney Blues 26 defeated Sydney University 22 at Western Weekender Stadium

Round Two
Cumberland Beavers 36 defeated Sydney University 10 at Ollie Webb Reserve

Round Three
UTS Jets 42 defeated Sydney University 32 at Marrickville Oval

Round Four
Norwest Polecats 18 defeated Sydney University 16 at St Johns Oval

Round Five
Sydney University 22 drew with Cumberland Beavers 22 at St Johns Oval

The competition will run until mid August, after which time a three week finals series will take place to determine the State Champion.