By Graham Croker

Universities Women’s Cricket Club all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar has been named International Women’s Cricket of the Year for the second-straight year.

The award was made at the Allan Border Medal presentation in Melbourne last night.

Sthalekar, the NSW captain and Australian vice-captain, won by three votes ahead of fellow all-rounder Shelley Nitschke, 50 to 47.

She joins four-time winner Karen Rolton, the national captain, as the only player to have taken out the award more than once.

Sthalekar played one Test and 14 out of 16 one-day internationals during the voting period and had a combined batting average of 59.82.