Sydney University’s women’s team claimed the competition lead in the 2023 Australian Water Polo League with wins in their first two rounds. The Lionesses opened the season with a 17-11 win over Drummoyne Devils at the Peter Montgomery Pool on Friday evening. Alexie Lambert, Anneliese Pamp and Anni Espar Llaquet each scored trebles for the Lionesses, with Maud Megens (2), Indigo Ditterick (2), Luci Marsh, Samantha Hardingham and Danielle Morrissey also contributing goals. Tasma Woolley topscored for the visitors with four goals, with Jolie Marsden (2), Brooke McClean (2), Macy Hansford, Lilli Harris and Morgan Baxter also posting goals.

The Lionesses backed up their Friday night effort with a 12-10 result over UTS Balmain Tigers at Peter Montgomery Pool on Saturday afternoon. Maud Megens led the scoring for Sydney University with five goals, with Luci Marsh (2), Anni Espar Llaquet (2), Alexi Lambert, Belle Humby and Anneliese Pamp also contributing. UTS Balmain Tigers’ goals came from Katie Dudley (3), Olivia Mitchell (2), Sienna Hearn (2), Jessica Bonnici, Lily Dunn and Layla Smith.

Sydney University head the ladder on 12 points, with ACU Cronulla Sharks (10), UTS Balmain Tigers (6) and UNSW Wests Killerwhales (6) making up the top four. Sydney University opened the 2023 Australian Water Polo League men’s season with a 12-all draw against Drummoyne Devils at Peter Montgomery Pool on Friday evening. Jake Cavano slotted five goals to lead the scoring for the night, with Goran Tomasevic (3), William Miller (2) and Loui Schuler (2) the other scorers for the Lions. Jack Deely led the Devils’ scoring with a triple, while Sam Slobodien (2), Marko Marceta (2), James Kalenda, Adam Hall, Nick Hallam, Blake Edwards and Leo Hurley also slotted goals.

The Lions returned to the Peter Montgomery Pool on Saturday afternoon to account for UTS Balmain Lions 12-9 in their Round 2
William Miller led the scoring for the winners with five goals, while Rhys Howden (3), Jake Cavan (3) and Hamish Hegarty kept the scoreboard ticking over. Mitch Robinson topscored for the visitors with three goals, with Ciaran Jones, Joel Smith, Harry Sanderson, Samuel Hughes, Nicholas Taylor and Samuel Bebb scoring singles.

The Lions and Lionesses will host ACU Cronulla Sharks at Peter Montgomery Pool in Round 3 matches on Friday evening, with the women’s match starting at 7pm and the men’s match at 8.15pm. They’ll back-up at the same venue on Sunday afternoon to host Hunter Hurricanes, with the women’s fixture beginning at 2pm and men’s match at 3.15pm.

Both Sydney University teams have competed in the national league since the men’s (1990) and women’s (2004) competitions were formed. The Lions won the competition in 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2018 when they went through the season undefeated. They were silver medallists in 2015 and 2017, and bronze medallists in 2014 and 2016. The Lionesses were national champions in 2016 and 2017 when they became the first women’s team to go through the season undefeated. They were silver medallists in 2015 and 2018 and bronze medallists in 2014.

Sydney University won the Peter Kerr
Trophy (Club Champions) in 2016, 2017
and 2018.