One day at a time for Students

  1. Home
  2. Sport
  3. One day at a time for Students

Sydney University moved into the top six of the NSW Premier One Day cricket competition with their win over Parramatta at University Oval on Saturday.

Under the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method, designed to calculate a target score when a match is interrupted by rain, Sydney University posted 7-159 off 28.2 overs to claim the points. The Students had won the toss and sent Parramatta in to bat. The visitors posted 8-174 off their allotted 33 overs before rain intervened, causing a revised target for the Students.

Parramatta had three major contributors in posting a competitive target, with Patrick Xie (52), Nick Bertus (46) and Luke Dempsey (26) the best with the willow. Kieran Tate collected 2-27 off his six overs.

Sydney University reached the revised target on the back of solid knocks from Ryan McElduff (53), Jordan Gauci (42) and Charles Litchfield (26), with Evan Pitt the pick of the visiting bowlers taking 3-17 from his six overs.

Northern District head the One Day competition, with St George, UNSW, Campbelltown Camden, Sydney University and Blacktown Mounties making up the top six after four rounds. Manly Warringah head the overall Belvidere Cup competition, with Sydney University, Northern District, UNSW, St George and Fairfield-Liverpool making up the top six after nine rounds.

Parramatta claimed the points in their One Day Second Grade clash with Sydney University at Old Kings Oval on Saturday. Having been sent in to bat, the hosts racked up 9-176 from their 50 overs, with opener Andrew Calvert leading the way with 75. Rex Greaves claimed 4-34 off his nine overs, with Don Butchart snaring 2-34 from 10 overs.

Despite a promising start, the Students were all out for 139 off 42 overs. Opener Jack Hill (35), No.3 Don Butchart (23) and No.4 Max Hope (41) had the Students in the hunt at 3-69 before they lost 7-70. Andrew Calvert (3-7), Michael Ho (3-25) and Ryan Gupta (2-37) caused the damage.

Parramatta also claimed the points in their Third Grade Mitchell Cup clash with Sydney University at St Paul’s College Oval. The visitors won the toss and elected to bowl in difficult conditions, with the DLS method a decision restricting the University to 39 overs. The hosts finished with 164 for the loss of nine wickets, with openers Matthew Powys (40) and Brayden Dilley (29) posting a 56-run opening partnership. Powys cracked five boundaries and a pair of sixes in his 29-ball foray. When No.3 Dom Goddard was dismissed for 27, the Students were 3-98 and looking at an imposing target, but they lost 6-66 thanks to Vikrant Nehru, who finished with 4-34 from his eight overs.

The visitors then posted 5-167 from 36.3 overs, with Joel Wright (42), Matthew Giumelli (28), Kashvi Gunawardane (21) and George Joseph (23 not out) leading the run chase. Darcy Manners (3-36) and Shivam Wadhera (2-18) led the wicket-takers.

The Fourth Grade Reid Cup match at Merrylands Oval also went Parramatta’s way with an eight-wicket outcome over Sydney University.Having been sent in to bat, the Students were all out for 118 in 43.5 overs. Opener Ash Cowan (22), No.5 Nivek Tanner (20), Lewis Ansell (19 not out) and Prakhar Sharma (12) were the only batsmen to reach double figures, while Bradley Ryder finished with 3-22 from his 10 overs. The hosts chased down the runs in 25.4 overs with opener Nicholas Bateup (44), No.3 Nitesh Samuel (40 not out) and No.4 James Dallaway (21 not out) racking up the runs.

The Fifth Grade David Sherwood Cup match, scheduled for Camperdown Park was abandoned because of wet weather.

The A.W. Green Shield (Under 16) competition started just before Christmas, with Randwick Petersham accounting for Sydney University in their Round 1 match at Coogee Oval. The hosts posted 6-187 off 48.4 overs in reply to Sydney University’s 9-186 off 50 overs. Zakary Graham (41), Atharv Ramakanth (37 not out) and Christopher Parthenis (27 not out) led the way for the hosts, while Mehrub Jan Chowdhury top scored for the Students with 50 off 54 deliveries.

Sydney University took the points in their Round 2 clash with a four-wicket result over UNSW at Sydney University Oval. The visitors chose first use of the wicket and were all out for 218 in 48.2 overs, thanks to Hayden McCarthy (55) and Hugh Taylor (48).

Sydney University replied with 6-219 on the back of a sparkling 119 from No.3 Julian Ryan and William Hardy’s unbeaten 49. Ryan cracked eight boundaries and seven over the ropes in his 115-ball knock.

Hawkesbury claimed the points with a nine-wicket result over Sydney University in their Round 3 match at University Oval on Sunday. Having won the toss and elected to bat, the Students were rolled for 67 in 33.4 overs, thanks to Aarush Soni (4-3 off 10 overs) and Shlok Patel (4-27 off 10 overs). The visitors racked up 68 off 18.1 overs, with No.3 Lucas Vincent (38 not out) and opener Josh Bawcombe (21 not out) leading the way.

The Women’s NSW Premier Cricket competition will recommence next Sunday, with Universities First Grade hosting Parramatta at David Phillips Memorial Fields.