Sydney University Women’s Hockey Club’s top five Metropolitan League teams will contest grand finals at Olympic Park this Sunday.

The University’s ML1 side finished the season proper on top of the ladder with 38 points to collect the minor premiership, with, Ryde-Hunters Hill (37), GNS (36), and Moorebank (32) making up the top four.

Sydney University booked a grand final berth with a 3-2 win over Ryde-Hunters Hill in the major semi-final.

Ryde-Hunters Hill then accounted for Moorebank 4-1 in the final to earn another crack against the Students in this Sunday’s grand final.

Sydney University finished second to Moorebank in the ML2 competition, with Glebe and GNS making up the top four.

The Students drew 1-all with Moorebank in the major semi-final and then accounted for Glebe 2-1 to earn a grand final berth.

Sydney University finished third behind UNSW and Mosman-Habourside in the ML3 competition, with Briars making up the top four.

The Students defeated Briars 3-nil in the minor semi-final and advanced to a grand final tilt with Mosman-Habourside after a 2-nil result over UNSW in the final.

Meanwhile, Sydney University’s Men’s hockey Club will be represented in the grand finals by their Premier League 3 side, who booked a season decider against Moorebank-Liverpool at Olympic Park on Sunday with a 2-1 win over Ryde-Hunters Hill in their semi-final.

Nicolas Johnston and Hayden Boyd foaled for the Students, while Alex Shaw scored for the losers.

Sydney University’s PL1, PL2 and PL4 sides all made it to the semi-finals before bowing out.




Sydney Women’s Metropolitan League – Grand Finals

ML1: Sydney University versus Ryde at Olympic Park at 1.45pm on Sunday.


ML2: Sydney University versus Moorebank at 11.45am at Olympic Park on Sunday.


ML3: Sydney University versus Mosman-Harbourside at 10am at Olympic Park on Sunday.




Sydney Men’s Premier League – Finals and Semi-Finals

PL1: NWS/BH 3 (Isaac Farmiilo, Cody Tribe, Hugh Wickett) defeated Sydney University 0 at Cathy Flack Field on 31 August.


PL2: Ryde-Hunters Hill 3 (Lachlan Howard, Bruce Farquharson, Reghyn Harrison) defeated Sydney University 0 at Legends Field on 31 August.


PL3: Sydney University 5 (Edward Ringwood 2, Ethan Price, Tesh Kanojia, Jeremy Phillips-Yelland) defeated Briars 1 (Derryn Allsop) at Legends Field on 31 August.

Semi-Final: Sydney University 2 (Nicolas Johnston, Hayden Boyd) defeated Ryde-Hunters Hill 1 (Alex Shaw) at Lidcombe on Saturday.

Grand Final: Sydney University versus Moorebank-Liverpool at noon at Olympic Park on Saturday.


PL4: Sydney University 2 (James Crabb, Tesh Kanojia) defeated Sutherland 1 (Jimmy Northwood) at Kevin Flack Field on 31 August.

Semi-Final: Ryde-Hunters Hill 3 defeated Sydney University 2 (Tesh Kanojia, Rowan Macdonald) at Lidcombe on Saturday.