Opener Nick Larkin brought his Sheffield Shield form back to club level on Saturday, posting his fourth century of the season in Sydney University’s 11-run limited overs win over Campbelltown-Camden.

Larkin hit the University Oval pickets nine times and put another four over the fence in scoring 138 off 142 balls.

It was the same score he posted against UTS North Sydney in the opening round of the 2018-19 season before being called up for Shield duties with NSW.

He posted an unbeaten 175 against Queensland and backed that up 109 against South Australia, while sharing a pair of 200-plus partnerships with fellow opener Daniel Hughes.

In his four knocks for Sydney University this season, Larkin has amassed 321 at 80.3.

He was the ninth man out on Saturday having shared an 80-run partnership with No.3 Damien Mortimer (29) and a 53-run stand with No.7 Ryan McElduff (15) as the Students posted 260 in 49-5 overs.

The visitors were still in the hunt at 7-234 but lost their last three wickets for 15 to be all out for 249 with four balls remaining. Tim Ley (4-56) and skipper Liam Robertson (3-42) were the best of the rock wielders.

Sydney University also won Second Grade and picked up bonus points in Third and Fourth grades, with Campbelltown-Camden claiming the honours in Firth Grade.

The win kept the Students at the top of the Belvidere Cup ladder on 51 points, with Penrith (47), Sydney (44), UTS North Sydney (43), Parramatta (37) and Bankstown (37) making up the top six.

Sydney University also head the Second and Fourth Grade ladders, are second in Third Grade and eighth in Fifth Grade.

The Students head the Club Championship on 1202 points, with Penrith (989) and Parramatta (917) the closet contenders.

Round 12 will see Sydney University up against Penrith in a Limited Overs round with Firsts hosting the visitors at University Oval.



Sydney Men’s Premier Grade cricket competition – Round 11 (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Sydney University 260 off 49.5 overs (Nick Larkin 138, Damien Mortimer 29; Luke Webb 4-64, Jarred Lysaught 3-43) defeated Campbelltown-Camden 249 off 49.2 overs (Jake Cormack 68, Jordan Browne 46, Jarrad Burke 40; Tim Ley 4-56, Liam Robertson 3-42) by 11 runs at University Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Campbelltown-Camden 0.


Second Grade: Sydney University 3-171 off 37.5 overs (Nicholas Walker 86, Ben Trevor-Jones 54, Steven Hobson 23 not out; Jackson Isakka 3-28) defeated Campbelltown-Camden 170 off 48.5 overs (Adam Ison 43, Mitchell Carruthers 40; Kieran Tate 4-21, Charlie Cassell 3-35) by seven wickets at Raby Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Cambelltown-Camden. Points: Sydney University 6, Campbelltown-Camden 0.


Third Grade: Sydney University 3-129 off 23.3 overs (Charles Litchfield 47, Alexander Shaw 34, David Miller 27; Joshua Campbell 1-14) defeated Campbelltown-Camden 127 off 38 overs (Joshua Campbell 52 not out; Lewis McMahon 4-24) by seven wickets, with a bonus point, at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: Campbelltown-Camden. Batted first: Campbelltown-Camden. Points: Sydney University 7. Campbelltown-Camden 0.


Fourth Grade: Sydney University 1-120 off 15.4 overs (Hayden Storey 72 not out, Matthew Powys 34; Aanal Bhavsar 1-36) defeated Campbelltown-Camden 119 off 39.1 (Thomas Patterson 41; Michael Robinson 4-23, Aidan Peek 2-13) by nine wickets, with a bonus point, at Raby Oval 2 on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Campbelltown-Camden. Points: Sydney University 7, Campbelltown-Camden 0.


Fifth Grade: Campbelltown-Camden 6-264 off 50 overs (Kye Stoneham 97, Joshua Shipley 35, John Bucknall 29 not out; Sanjiv Khalkho 2-43) defeated Sydney University 259 off 48 overs (James Robertson 78, Brayden Dilley 53, Zohirul Islam 48; Danial Abbasi 2-29) by five runs at Camperdown Park on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Campbelltown-Camden. Points: Campbelltown-Camden 6, Sydney University 0.


Metropolitan Cup – Round 12 (Limited Overs)

Sydney University 6-127 off 27.3 overs (Robert Browne 49 not out) defeated Georges River Stingrays 126 off 44.5 overs (no details) by four wickets at Bland Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Georges River Stingrays. Points: Sydney University 6, Georges River Stingrays 0.


Sydney Women’s Premier competition – Brewer Shield (Round 6 – Twenty20)

Bankstown 2-151 off 20 overs (Hayley Elliott 32 ret not out, Emily Lawler 32 ret not out, Chloe Butler 32 ret not out, Kaitlyn Drinkwater 31 ret not out; Eve Donovan 1-9) defeated Universities 8-74 off 20 overs (Frankie Nicklin 30 ret not out, Aarya Shipurka 24; Maeve Martin 1-2, Mikayla Kolbe 1-8) by 75 runs at Grahame Thomas Oval on Sunday. Toss: Bankstown. Batted first: Bankstown. Points: Bankstown 6, Universities 0.


Third Grade Twenty20 – Round 4

Gordon 5-150 off 20 overs (Julia Chessman 33 ret not out, Kristen Dorsch 30 ret not out, Elizabeth Richards 23, Kinjal Kumani 22; Brooke Atkins 2-9) defeated Universities Blue 95 off 17.3 overs (Brooke Atkins 32 not out, Laura McDonald 18; Shagufta Barkat 3-13, Lisa Chan 2-11, Kinjal Kumani 2-25) by 55 runs at Tonbridge Park on Saturday. Toss: Universities Blue. Batted first: Gordon. Points: Gordon 6, Universities Blue 0.

Universities Gold: Bye.