Sydney University’s Nick Larkin and Greg Mail set a club record opening stand of 337 on day one of their two-day fixture against Manly-Warringah at University Oval on Saturday.

NSW Blues squad member Larkin cracked an unbeaten 206 and former NSW representative Mail posted 179 in Sydney University’s 1(dec)-424 off 85 overs. Manly-Warringah were 1-4 at stumps.

Skipper Larkin’s 206, which came off 247 balls and included 27 boundaries, was his first double century in First Grade and his seventh century in First Grade.

Mail’s 179 was his 43rd century in First Grade century and has him on track for 15,000 First Grade runs. He has scored at least one First Grade century in 15 successive seasons, which is also a record.

Larkin and Mail’s opening stand set a new club record, surpassing the first wicket partnership of 324 between Will Hay and Mail back in the 2009-10 season.

The stand was also the second best opening partnership in the 124-year history of the McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket.

Legendary Victor Trumper and Dan Gee posted a 423-run partnership for Paddington against Redfern, at Refern Oval, in 1903. 

Mail has now been involved in two of the top five opening partnerships and four triple century stands, including a record 390 for a second wicket partnership, with Matthew Phelps, for Sydney University against Mosman in 2006.

He also shared a 310-run partnership with David Miller against Northern District in 2009-10; a 246-run partnership with Scott Henry against Eastern Suburbs in 2013-14; and a 176-run partnership with Larkin against Gordon in 2010-11.

Mail’s 43rd First Grade century leaves him seven clear of Victor Trumper, Warren Bardsley and Bob Simpson, each with 36.

While Larkin’s 206 was his first double-century in First Grade in Sydney, he has posted a higher score, an unbeaten 247 for Northern Knights against the Leinster Lightning at Waringstown, Ireland, in the Irish Inter-Provincial competition in 2013.

That innings saw the former SUSF Elite Athlete Program scholarship holder become the first player to post a double century in Irish Inter-Provincial cricket history.

Larkin hit 27 boundaries in his 247-ball stay on Saturday, while Mail cracked 22 boundaries in his 215 ball occupation.

When he departed, NSW representative Ryan Carters produced a 36-run cameo before the Students declared, leaving the visitors nine overs before stumps.

Tim Ley had opener Jarrod Rawlings caught behind by Carters for a duck, leaving them with a tough day at the office on Saturday.

Meanwhile, Sydney University’s Poidevin-Gray (Under 21) team opened the season with an exciting three-run win over Bankstown at Sydney University Oval on Sunday.

The Students posted 9-258 off their 50 overs before restricting the visitors to 9-255 in a nail-biting finish.

Charles Litchfield (56), Nicky Craze (39), Dugald Holloway (38), Ryan Danne (27), Hayden Kerr (24) and Jonathon Craig Dobson (22) contributed to Sydney University’s competitive total.

Bailey Dickinson cracked 114 and Thomas Sowden posted 77 as Bankstown attempted to chase down the target, which failed in the final over. Dugald Holloway (3-50) and Kieran Tate (2-50) were the best of the Sydney University trundlers.


Sydney Men’s Premier competition: Two-Day matches – Round 3

First Grade: Sydney University 1(dec)-424 off 85 overs (Nick Larkin 204 not out, Greg Mail 179, Ryan Carters 36 not out; Matt White 1-50) versus Manly-Warringah 1-4 (Tim Ley 1-0) off nine overs, stumps, day one, at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University.

Second Grade: Manly-Warringah 5-324 off 97 overs (Thomas Kaye 76, Jack Ritchie 63, Sam Webber 62 not out, Sam Gainsford 54; Liam Whitaker 3-74, Jonathon Craig Dobson 2-95) versus Sydney University, stumps, day one at Mike Pawley Oval on Saturday. Toss: Manly-Warringah.

Third Grade: Sydney University 166 off 52.3 overs (Kevin Jacob 42, Ash Cowan 26, Jack Holloway 25, Matthew Powys 23; Joshua Wigney 3-37, Ryan Bishop-Perrett 3-37, Dylan Marshall 6-69) versus Manly-Warringah 2-106 off 25 overs(Aiden Bariol 47 not out, Ross Trewartha 23), stumps, day one at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University.

Fourth Grade: Sydney University 284 off 74.1 overs (James Crowley 92, Cristian Lorenzato 77, Vince Umbers 37, Brodie Frost 33) versus Manly-Warringah 0-9 off three overs, stumps, day one at L.M. Graham Reserve on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University.

Fifth Grade: Sydney University versus Manly-Warringah at Camperdown Oval on Saturday – no details supplied by Sydney University scorers.

Poidevin-Gray Shield: Limited Overs – Round 1

Sydney University 9-258 off 50 overs (Charles Litchfield 56, Nicky Craze 39, Dugald Holloway 38, Ryan Danne 27, Hayden Kerr 24, Jonathon Craig Dobson 22; Ayden Brown 2-31, David Lozinski 2-37) defeated Bankstown 9-255 off 50 overs (Bailey Dickinson 114, Thomas Sowden 77; Dugald Holloway 3-50, Kieran Tate 2-50) by three runs at Sydney University Oval on Sunday. Toss: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Bankstown 0.

Sydney Metropolitan Cup competition: Two-Day matches ‑ Round 3

Blacktown 4(dec)-294 off 50 overs (Modacer Momandi 123, Joshua Renton 100 not out) versus Sydney University 0-50 off 29 overs (no details supplied), stumps, day one at Whalan No.2 Oval on Saturday. Toss: Blacktown.

Sydney Women’s Premier competition: Limited 0vers – Round 1

First Grade: Sydney Rangers 5-297 off 50 overs (Rebecca Maher 127, Lauren Smith 57 not out, Maitlan Brown 30 not out; Maisy Gibson 2-28) defeated Universities 137 off 34.1 overs (Georgia Redmayne 61; Rachael Haynes 3-11, Angela Reakes 3-12, Lauren Smith 2-35) by 160 runs, with a bonus point, at Mark Taylor Oval on Sunday. Toss: Sydney Rangers. Points: Sydney Rangers 7, Universities 0.

Second Grade: Sydney 213 off 27 overs (no details provided) defeated Universities 105 off 43 overs (Olivia Porter 54), by 108 runs, with a bonus point, at David Phillips North on Sunday. Toss: Sydney. Points: Sydney 7, Universities 0.

Third Grade: Universities Blue 3-266 off 40 overs (Alison Chisholm 50 ret, Brooke Atkins 50 ret, Erica James 50 ret; Georgia Lomis-Futeran 1-31, Isabeau Gavel 1-31) defeated Universities Gold 45 off 10.5 overs (Malina Rumble 2-15, Vanessa White 1-0, Brooke Atkins 1-3) by 225 runs at Tonbridge St Reserve on Sunday. Toss: Universities Gold. Batted first: Universities Blue.