Sydney University Football Club head coach Tim Davidson was awarded the David Brockhoff Medal as 2016 Coach of the Year at the annual Sydney Rugby Union Awards, held at the Glenmore Hotel, Sydney.

With 13 wins, one draw and four losses in the 18-round regular season, Sydney University finished minor premiers in the Shute Shield competition and will push for the major premiership when they meet Northern Suburbs in the grand final on Saturday.

Having captained Sydney University to seven premierships in a wonderful club career, Davidson has successfully transferred his knowledge to a coaching career that is in its infancy.

Sydney University Football Club president, Angus Stuart, said Davidson’s holistic approach to the coaching role is what makes him a great coach and worthy winner of the award.

“There is no question that Tim thinks of rugby as a vehicle for teaching life lessons,” Mr Stuart said. “So when he works with the players he not only teaches them how to win games and the technical skills that go with that, but he’s also teaching them a lot of character strengths such as gratitude, discipline, grit and self-control.”

SUFC general manager David Haigh, a former playing partner of Davidson, said the coach’s experience at Shute Shield representative levels helped to make him a great mentor.

“Tim’s success is borne of his experience in the Shute Shield, he understands the Shute Shield intimately and he’s passionate about it which is reflective of him volunteering his time at the club, but also his position on the SRU board.”

SUFC also collected the Gregor George Cup for the 2016 Club Championship, the Eric Spilstead Shield for the 2016 Colts Club Championship, and the E.S. Marks Memorial Shield for winning the minor premiership.

SUFC First Grade winger Christian Kagiassis was a finalist in the Rookie of the Year Award which went to Irae Simone of Northern Suburbs, and First XV halfback Jake Gordon finished second on the 2016 tryscoring list which was headed by Warringah’s Harry Jones with 16.

Northern Suburbs skipper and flanker Will Miller was awarded the Ken Catchpole Medal after being named the 2016 Sydney Rugby Union’s Player of the Year.