Sydney University Lions completed an extraordinary season on the weekend when awarded with the inaugural Peter Kerr Trophy as the most successful National Water Polo League club for the 2015-16 season.

The trophy is awarded for the combined results of the men’s and women’s teams. From the 44 games played of the regular season, Sydney Uni finished top of table with an impressive 117 points through the total efforts of the Men’s (59 points) and Women’s teams (58 points).

Sydney Uni Men also took out the Southern Cross Trophy for winning the minor premiership. The Women came close too, finishing second with only 4 points the difference behind Brisbane Barracudas.

The final round saw Sydney take home the win over the Devils in both the men’s and womens games at home on Friday 4 March, while their last match of the main at Ashfield pool on Sunday 6 March saw the women’s team record a solid win, defeating UNSW Wests Killer Whales 13-5 and the Lions men’s team went down in a close one to Magpies ahead of the series finals, 12-10.  

Both teams travel to the Melbourne Aquatic Centre for this weekend’s semi-finals with the women straight into the action while the men have a bye, virtue of topping the ladder.

National Water Polo League – Final round results 

Women: Sydney University Lions 17 (I Bishop and K Gofers 4, H Buckling and N Rosenthal 3, D Lewis 2, E Lewis 1) def. Drummoyne Devils 8 (M Baxter 3, E Jones, E Daube, K Assef, A Corbett and J Appel 1) Qtr scores 5-2, 4-2, 4-2, 4-2 at Peter Montgomery Pool, Sydney Uni Sports and Aquatic Centre on Friday.

Sydney University Lions 13 ((I bishop, H Buckling, K Gofers and B Halligan 3, D Morrissey 1) def. UNSW Wests Killer Whales 5 (B Knox 2, K Mirabito, L Sieprath and M Willows 1) Qtr scores 0-6, 1-4, 3-0, 1-3 at Ashfield Aquatic Centre on Sunday.

Men:  Sydney University Lions 11 (G Tomasevic, C Dyson and J Cotterill 2, T Franklin, C Whittaker, L Northcott, C Poot and T Kearns 1) def. Drummoyne Devils 8 (M Emery 4, T Martin 3, M Nesic 1) Qtr scores 4-2, 2-2, 4-2, 1-2 at Peter Montgomery Pool, Sydney Uni Sports and Aquatic Centre on Friday.

UNSW Wests Magpies 12 (L Hollis 3, R Campbell, L Reynolds, N Power 2 and J Gillchrist 2, M Sessantini 1) def. Sydney University Lions 10 (C Poot and J Cotterill 2, T Franklin, C Dyson, L Northcott, T Kearns, J Davie and W Cotterill 1) Qtr scores 3- 2, 3-4, 3-1, 3-3 at Ashfield Aquatic Centre on Sunday.