Sydney University Athletic Club competitors came away from the 119th NSW Championships, held at Sydney Olympic Park from February 26-28, with a 24-medal haul.

The SUAC collection included 13 gold, five silver and six bronze medals.

Nick van Gelder set the ball rolling when he collected gold in the men’s open long jump with a leap of 7.10m to beat Asic Wests’ Jake Stein (6.99m) and Bankstown Sport’s David Chen (6.99m).

Angus Armstrong followed up with gold in the men’s open pole vault when he soared 5.20m. Christopher Clegg of Hills District AC was second with a vault of 4.70m, and Jack Hicking of Bankstown Sports was third with a vault of 4.60m.

SUAC’s Nicola McDermott won the women’s open high jump with a successful attempt at 1.80m to edge out Alysha Burnett (1.75m) and Emily Whelan (1.70m).

New Zealander Joshua Hawkins (13.91sec) pipped SUAC’s Nick Hough (13.93) in the 110m hurdles, but Hough collected gold as the first Australian over the line, with Daniel Small (14.54) collecting silver and Jake Stein  (14.74) taking bronze.

SUAC’s Shelly Jenneke was favourite in the women’s open 100m hurdles and she delivered with a time of 13.27 to edge out Abbie Taddeo (13.46) and Gabriella O’Grady (13.85).

With recent world titles in her collection, wheelchair racer Angie Ballard was also favourite in the women’s 200m and 800m events. She won the 200m from Julie Charlton and Emily Preketes, and the 800m events from  Emily Preketes and Julie Charlton.

SUAC’s Nicole Fagan powered home in the women’s open 5000m walk with a time of 24:46.85 to relegate Allanah Pitcher (25:27.92) to silver and Samantha Brown (25:43.05) to bronze. 

Chris Lecount Gordon set a personal best of 37:09.29 to collect gold in the Masters 10km, and Tavleen Singh ran a PB of 24.17 in the women’s open 200m to edge out Emily Coppins (24.46) and Kristie Edwards (24.92).

SUAC’s Jenny Blundell ran 2:06.50 to win the women’s open 800m from Amy Harding-Delooze (2:07.44) and Tia Brady (2:08.01).

And SUAC dominated the women’s and men’s open 3000m steeplechase events, with Paige Campbell winning the women’s in 10:22.00 from Beth Croft (10:23.24) and Charlotte Wilson (10:43.74) and James Nipperess collecting gold in the men’s with a time of  8:49.93, from Youcef Abdi (9:16.38) and Edward Trippas (9:30.68).       

Gold medals:

Nick van Gelder – Long Jump

Angus Armstrong ­­‑ Pole vault

Nicola McDermott – High Jump

Nick Hough – 110m hurdles

Shelly Jenneke – 100m hurdles

Angie Ballard – 200m wheelchair and 800m wheelchair

Nicole Fagan – 5000m walk

Chris Lecount Gordon – Masters 10km, plus a PB

Tavleen Singh – 200m plus a PB

Jenny Blundell – 800m

Paige Campbell – 3000m steeplechase

James Nipperess – 3000m steeplechase

Silver medals:

Courtney Schultz – 400m plus a PB

Nicole Fagan – 10,000m

Katrina Blackett – Javelin plus a PB

Jack Colreavy – 5000m plus a PB

Holly Campbell – 1500m

Bronze medals:

Mel Witchard – 1500m

Alex Pettigrew – 800m

Gen Cowie – 400m hurdles plus a PB

Shelly Jenneke – 100m

Isabella Murell – Pole Vault

Chrissie Grun – Javelin

Other finalists from SUAC were: Andrew Giltrap ( throws), Matty Mountford ( throws where he recorded two PB’s), Elliot Lang (javelin), Andries van Woroerkom (javelin), Katrina Blackett (shotput), Seb Gray (high jump), Harry Day (high jump), Miles Cole Clark (high jump), Jack Colreavy (1500m plus a PB), Joe Burgess (1500m), Tav Singh (100m), Jin Su Jung (100m), Jarrod Geddes (100m), Doguardo Lozada (400 hurdles) and Jo Cubis (800m plus a PB).