Bankstown had an over-and-a-half to spare in defeating Universities by five wickets in the grand final of the Sydney Women’s Grade Twenty20 competition at Coogee Oval on Sunday.

Bankstown belted with 5-95 in 18.5 overs in reply to Universities 3-94 off 20 overs, with opener Asha Smith topscoring with 27 and Erin Burns adding 19 for the winners.

Smith’s runs came of 28 deliveries and included one boundary. She shared an opening stand of 42 with Laura Wright (12) and a second wicket stand of 20 with Corinne Hall (6) to help guide the team home. Emily Mifsud (2-21) and Kate Owen (1-18) were the pick of the Universities bowlers.

When Universities won the toss and elected to bat, they might have been thinking of a bigger target than 3-94. But they encountered a tough wicket, some tight bowling and a slow outfield.

Reliable opener Georgia Redmayne once again topscored for Universities. Her 39 came off 58 deliveries, with no boundaries.  Alice Davidson-Richards entered the fray at No.4 and upped the ante with a quick-fire 26 not out from 21 deliveries, but the tally proved too small for Universities to maintain their ‘undefeated’ tag in the Twenty20 competition.

However, they can maintain the tag in the 50-over competition, which resumes this Sunday when Universities take on St George-Sutherland in a Round 8 match at The Village Green.


Sydney Women’s Grade competition – Round 13 (Twenty20 Grand Final)

First Grade: Bankstown 5-95 off 18.5 overs (Asha Smith 27, Erin Burns 19; Emily Mifsud 2-21, Kate Owen 1-18) defeated Universities 3-94 off 20 overs (Georgia Redmayne 39, Alice Davidson-Richards 26 not out; Samantha Devlin 1-16, Radha Jagtap 1-22) by five wickets at Coogee Oval on Sunday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Universities.

Sydney Men’s Grade competition – Round 10 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Gordon 9(dec)-216 off 62 overs (Cameron Eccles 76, Will Smith 57, Elliot Richtor 34; Will Somerville 6-81, Liam Robertson 2-23) defeated Sydney University 69 off 31.2 overs (Steven Hobson 12; Charlie Stobo 4-34, Daniel Smith 3-15) and 4-165 off 77 overs (Liam Robertson 44 not out, Ed Cowan 32, Mark Faraday 28; James Kennedy 3-30) on the first innings at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Gordon 6, Sydney University 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 278 off 92.2 overs (Tom Kierath 93, Ben Larkin 48, Max Hope 46, Jack Holloway 43; Chad Soper 4-52) defeated Gordon 179 (Chad Soper 54, Adam Cubbage 33) on the first innings at Chatswood Oval. Toss: Gordon, Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Gordon 0.

Third Grade: Sydney University

Gordon 9(dec)-131 off 53 overs (Lachlan Stewart 43 not out, Dominic Thomson 29, Stephen Bristow 23; Josh Toyer 4-40, Lawrence Neil-Smith 3-19) and 6-48 off 24 overs (Stephen Bristow 16; Josh Toyer 2-7,  Lawrence Neil-Smith 2-22) defeated Sydney University 71 off 37 overs (Sutharsan Sivapalan 12; Jonathon New 4-21, Daniel Strickland 4-31) and 5(dec)-215 (Nicholas Arnold 101 not out, Ash Cowan 30; Daniel Strickland 2-30) on the first innings at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Gordon 6, Sydney University 0.

Fourth Grade: Gordon 178 off 78.4 overs. Rain stopped play. Match drawn. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Gordon. Points: Sydney University 0. Gordon 0.

Fifth Grade: Gordon3-101 off 12.1 overs (David Spies 53, Stuart Bromley 21 not out; Murray Miles 1-5) defeated Sydney University 98 off 39.1 overs (Eion Liehr 38; Anthony Sherman 3-20, David Monaghan 3-28) on the first innings at Camperdown Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Gordon 6, Sydney University 0.

Metropolitan Cup – Round 19 (Two day match)

Sydney University 160 off 66 overs (Alexander Bell 51, Andrew Wilkinson 24; Shimul Nath 3-41) defeated Randwick-Petersham Green 21 off 17 overs (Shehan Canagasingham 7-8, Alister Donkin 2-10) and 4-67 off 36 overs (George Frazakis 27; Alister Donkin 2-20) on the first innings at Marrickville Oval. Toss: Randwick-Petersham. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Randwick-Petersham 0.