Students falter in Belvidere Cup defence

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Students falter in Belvidere Cup defence

Sydney University’s push for back-to-back Belvidere Cups came to an end at Manly Oval at the weekend when Manly-Warringah posted a six-wicket result over the defending premiers in their qualifying final.

Having scraped into the finals after an indifferent season during which seven players were away at times on NSW and other representative duties, the Students still fielded a very competitive line-up with four current and one ex-NSW players in the ranks.

But with inclement conditions putting paid to play on Saturday, Manly-Warringah captain Tim Cruikshank had no hesitation in giving the visitors first use of the wicket on Sunday.

And the move paid dividends with speedster Nick McLachlin collecting 5-28 as the Students amassed 173 off 68 overs. They were 7-107 with NSW representatives Ryan Carters (34), Scott Henry (22), Greg Mail (22), Nick Larkin (1) and Liam Robertson (0) back in the sheds before Tim Ley (32) and Darius Visser (18) put on a face-saving 60-run stand.

Manly-Warringah No.3 Adam Crosthwaite held the host’s innings together with a well-compiled 82 as they moved to 4-176 and a semi-final berth.

Sydney University’s Second, Third and Fourth grades posted qualifying final wins to earn semi-final berths, while the Metropolitan Cup side moved into the final with a comprehensive win over Blacktown.

The Metropolitan Cup side amassed a 525 on the back of centuries from opener Lachlan Carfax (151) and No.6 Kobe Carroll (105) before dismissing Blacktown for 173 at St Andrew’s College Oval.

Carfax, an AW Green Shield (Under 16) player hit 18 boundaries and a pair of sixes in his whirlwind innings, which wasn’t his biggest of the season. He cracked 153 for the Metropolitan Cup side against Western Suburbs in January.

The Metropolitan Cup final between Sydney University and Penrith will be played next Saturday and Sunday.


Sydney Men’s Grade Cricket competition – Qualifying Final

First Grade: Manly-Warringah 4-176 off 62 overs (Adam Crosthwaite 82, Stephen O’Keefe 32 not out, Ahillen Beadle 25; Greg Mail 1-18, Dugald Holloway 1-32) d Sydney University 173 off 68.5 overs (Ryan Carters 34, Tim Ley 32, Mark Faraday 26, Scott Henry 22, Greg Mail 22; Nick McLachlin 5-28, Stephen O’Keefe 2-20) by six wickets at Manly Oval. Toss: Manly-Warringah. Batted first: Sydney University.

Second Grade: Sydney University 156 off 53.2 overs (Jack Hill 51, Will Hay 35; Peter Spurr 5-32, Aaron Gater 3-29) and 8-213 off 66 overs (Adam Theobald 68, Tom Kierath 44 not out, James Larkin 33, Jack Hill 25; Peter Spurr 2-25, Sanjay Parasher 2-43) d Blacktown 69 off 31.4 overs (Mitchell Carruthers 19, Aaron Gater 17 not out; Jim Ryan 6-16, Ben Joy 3-29) by 86 runs at Sydney University No.1 Oval at the weekend. Toss: Blacktown. Batted first: Sydney University.

Third Grade: Sydney University 78 off 54.2 overs (Ben Larkin 20, Jack Holloway 19, Nicholas Arnold 19; Jack Playfair 5-31, Matthew Sarkies 4-16) and 4-96 off 44.3 overs (Jack Maddocks 32 not out, Jack Holloway 20; Angus Palmer 1-22) d Eastern Suburbs 68 off 44.3 overs (Brenton Barker 26; Henry Clark 3-7, Lewis McMahon 3-14, Kieran Tate 2-23) and 105 off 31.5 overs (Oliver Maxwell 25, Jack Redmond 19; Ash Cowan 6-21) outright at Waverley Oval at the weekend. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Eastern Suburbs.

Fourth Grade: Sydney 177 off 97.4 overs (Craig Di Blasio 41, Jack Crace 41, Matt Kent 28, Dominic Tonkin 23; Jonathon Craig Dobson 4-20, Hayden Kerr 4-33) and 7-49 off 21.1 overs (Jack Crace 18; Brodie Frost 5-23) d Sydney University 71 off 30.2 overs (Jonathon Craig Dobson 24 not out, Alasdair Grant 19; Alex Rashleigh 4-13, Jake Berry 3-14, Stephen King 3-42) and 154 off 35.3 overs  (Matt Lowen 39, Suda Sivapalan 22; Craig Di Blasio 4-59, Charles Booth 3-35) outright at Drummoyne Oval at the weekend. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney.

Metropolitan Cup competition – Semi-Final

Sydney University 525 off 148 overs (Lachlan Carfax 151, Kobe Carroll 105, Hugh Kermond 67, Joseph Dorph 66, Cameron New 52; Shubham Kaushik 4-54, David Smith 4-119) d Blacktown 173 off 45.4 overs (Akhil Parvetharneni 39, Tristen Smith 21; Shehan Canagasingham 6-55, Chris de Krester 3-26) on the first innings at St Andrew’s College Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.

In the other semi-final, Penrith 8-237 d UNSW 111 at Jim Hanshaw Oval.

Final: Defending premiers Sydney University v Penrith on March 28-29 (venue TBA).


Sydney Women’s Grade Cricket competition – Grand Final (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Bankstown 8-202 off 50 overs (Corinne Hall 37, Laura Wright 30, Ashleigh Gardner 29, Carly Ryan 28; Kate Owen 3-36, Lynsey Askew 2-25) d Universities 166 off 46.2 overs (Alex Blackwell 42, Georgie Redmayne 37, Rachael Haynes 30; Ashleigh Gardner 5-23, Erin Burns 2-35) by 36 runs at North Sydney Oval on Sunday. Toss: Bankstown. Batted first: Bankstown. Limited Overs premiers for 2014-15: Bankstown.