Second Twenty20 title for Universities

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Second Twenty20 title for Universities

Universities Women’s Cricket Club collected their second Sydney Grade Twenty20 title in three years with a 43-run win over St George-Sutherland at Coogee Oval on Sunday.

Openers Leah Poulton and Alex Blackwell set Universities on course for the title with a 65-run stand after the Students had won the toss and elected to bat.

Poulton’s quickfire 48 from 28 deliveries included four boundaries and three sixes, while Blackwell posted 55 from 48 deliveries, including eight boundaries and a six.

Although Universities lost No.3 Rachel Haynes for a duck, brilliantly caught on the boundary by Lauren Miletich, and Kate Owen for 11, Georgie Redmayne (25 not out) shared a 48-run stand with Blackwell to guide the score to 4-150.

Anna Horton, with 1-27 off her four overs and Julie Muir 1-36 off four overs, were the pick of the St George-Sutherland bowlers.

Universities only employed five bowlers to restrict St George-Sutherland to 6-107 off 20 overs, with Emily Mifsud (3-18), Kate Owen (2-16), Melissa Norup (1-17), Kara Sutherland (0-20) and Ros Haynes (0-33) turning in miserly displays backed up by some sharp fielding. Lisa McIntyre with 36 not out, including six boundaries, and Lauren Miletich (30) were the best with the bat for St George-Sutherland.

Alex Blackwell was named Player of the Final.

Universities defeated Gordon in their semi-final earlier in the day, while St George-Sutherland earned a berth in the final after defeating Penrith in the other semi-final.

Universities Second Grade made it to the semi-final of the Twenty20 competition where they bowed out to Bankstown.

Bankstown made 3-146 after being sent in, and then restricted Universities to 7-112.

St George Sutherland (2-149) defeated Bankstown (8-117) in the Second Grade final.