Sydney University reclaims Games crown

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Sydney University reclaims Games crown

Sydney University athletes performed with distinction across the board at the 2014 Australian University Games held in Sydney and were rewarded with the overall points championship.

In winning a record 17 pennants (first place team finishes), Sydney University headed both the men’s and women’s pointscores to win the overall points championship by a record margin.

Sydney University amassed 456.5 points (women 261, men 195.5) to finish well ahead of second-placed Melbourne University (eight pennants and 176.6 points), who were chasing a third consecutive crown. Monash University finished with seven pennants, University of Technology Sydney finished with four, and the University of Western Australia finished with four.

On the teams front, Sydney University won gold medals in Athletics (Men), Athletics (Women), Baseball, Fencing (Men), Football (Men’s Division 2), Football (Women), Handball, Hockey (Women), Judo (Women), Kendo (Men), Kendo (Women), Rowing (Men), Rowing (Women), Rugby 7s (Men), Rugby 7s (Women), Swimming (Men), Table Tennis (Women), Tennis (Men), Ultimate Frisbee (Division 2 Mixed), Water Polo (Men).

Sydney University also won team silver medals in women’s basketball, women’s touch football and sailing, and team bronze medals in men’s and women’s badminton, men’s T20 cricket and women’s water polo.

Since the Australian University Games were run as an overall event in 1993, Sydney University has emerged as the overall points winner a record nine times, including the 1995 Games in Darwin, 1996 in Canberra, 1999 in Perth, 2000 in Ballarat, 2001 in Sydney, 2002 in Adelaide, 2003 in Newcastle, 2007 on the Gold Coast, 2011 on the Gold Coast and 2014 in Sydney.

This year’s Games attracted over 7100 student athletes from 41 tertiary institutions across Australia, taking part in 32 sport competitions.

The John White Spirit of the Games trophy, which is awarded to the university that displays good sportsmanship and fair play, was awarded to Edith Cowan University from Western Australia. Bond University again took out the Doug Ellis per capita trophy, which is awarded to the university winning the most pennants per student numbers. Although the victory was by the barest of margins with Australian College of Physical Education just five points behind them.

AUG Project Manager, Mark Lockie, said he was incredibly proud of the event and of the work his staff and volunteers produced during the week-long event.

“With high quality competition, brilliant weather all week long, an incredible Opening Ceremony and positive experiences reported by students and university team managers alike across a broad range of sports including a couple of new sports this year we a proud to have produced such a great event that was thoroughly enjoyed by all,” Mr Lockie said.

The Australian University Games will head to the Gold Coast in 2015.

Because of their success in 17 team events this year, Sydney University had a swag of athletes selected in the Green and Gold teams at the end of the Games. They included:

Jin Su Jung (Athletics)

Ella Nelson (Athletics)

Annaliese Rubie (Athletics)

Jenny Blundell (Athletics)

Alix Kennedy (Athletics)

Callum Kennedy (AFL)

Sirini Fan (Badminton)

Jasper Odgers (Baseball)

Anthony Palmer (Baseball)

David Hazzard (Basketball)

Sarah Schicher (Basketball)

Tristan Black (Basketball)

Kate Cranney (Basketball)

Matthew Donald (Fencing)

Jasper Rowley (Fencing)

John Downes (Fencing)

Jemma Griffin (Football)

Elizabeth Grey (Football)

Amy Sarandopoulos (Football)

Natalie Ambrose (Football)

Benjamin Murray (Golf)

Daniel Fogerty (Handball)

Ben Fogerty (Handball)

Jonathon Kriening (Handball)

Alice Keighley (Handball)

Paul Counsell (Hockey)

 Nina Khoury (Hockey)

Donald McDougall (Judo)

Matt Narracott (Rugby 7s)

Justin Fourie (Rugby 7s)

Cameron Mason (Rugby 7s)

Josh Ash (Rugby 7s)

Dylan Vierra (Rugby 7s)

Iliseva Batibasaga (Rugby 7s)

Emily Chancellor (Rugby 7s)

Kimberley Davey (Rugby 7s)

Sarah Halvorsen (Rugby 7s)

Eilish Sheerin (Rugby 7s)

Nicola Brady (Sailing)

Jeronimo Harrison (Sailing)

Emma Ivllanio (Softball)

Laura McCredie (Squash)

Hayley Abood (Swimming)

Kane Townsend (Table Tennis)

Dawn Ee (Table Tennis)

Martina Hudaly (Tennis)

Michael Duong (Taekwondo)

Hyunwoong Sam-Yang (Taekwondo

Clara Choi (Taekwondo)

Jessica Moro (Taekwondo)

Paddy Coelho (Touch Men)

Gabi Chiu (Touch Women)

Annabelle Wright (Touch Women)

Bec Cachia (Touch Women)

Terrence Kwok (Touch Mixed)

Eleanor Raper (Touch Mixed)

Ben Trevor-Jones (T20 Cricket)

Joseph Kershaw (T20 Cricket)

Liam Elkington (Volleyball)

Tom Kearnes (Water Polo)

Anthony Hrysanthos (Water Polo)

Paul Sindone (Water Polo)

Emily Scott (Water Polo)

Hannah Buckling (Water Polo)

Emma Lewis (Water Polo)