2014 has been a very successful year for the Sydney Uni Women’s AFL club. After a fairy tale season finish winning both the minor premiership and the season grand final, the club has collected more accolades at the competitions awards night.

Stephanie Walker, a member of the Student’s women’s AFL team was announced the Division One Best and Fairest at the event. She won convincingly by seven votes ahead of Macquarie University’s Amanda Farrugia.

After debuting in the competition in 2013, Stephanie has had a fantastic season. She is explosive in the forward half and creates goal scoring opportunities for the team. Her consistency was demonstrated in her polling votes in ten of the fifteen games she played in this season, finishing on 24 points.

Jennifer Lew who was named the captain of the Women’s Team of the Year also finished strongly in the Best and Fairest voting, just eight points behind Walker.

Joining Lew and Walker were five other Sydney Uni women’s players in the Team of Year. This included Rachael Stack, Olivia Warren, Aoife McDonell, Libby Sadler and Ashlee Morgan.

In addition to honouring a tremendously talented team, Sydney Uni’s own coach Yucel Celenk was named Coached of the Year.

The haul of awards demonstrates the strength of the Sydney Uni Women’s program and indicates that things are looking positive for another successful season in 2015.