14 Sydney University representatives named in Australian rowing squads

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. 14 Sydney University representatives named in Australian rowing squads

12 Sydney University rowers and two coaches have been announced in the Australian Senior, U23 and U21 rowing teams set to compete in 2014.

Fergus Pragnell, Sasha Belonogoff, Nick Purnell, Cameron Girdlestone, Ed de Carvalho, Chris Cunningham-Reid (sweep reserve & men’s pair), Sally Kehoe and Mark Prater (coach) will take part in tailored international competition programs with the Australian Senior squad.

Some crews have been selected to represent Australia at 2014 World Rowing Cup 2 (Aiguebelette, France) and World Rowing Cup 3 (Lucerne, Switzerland), as well as the 2014 World Rowing Championships (Amsterdam, The Netherlands). All results will be reviewed following the World Rowing Cup campaign before the final Australian Rowing Team is confirmed ahead of the 2014 World Rowing Championships.

Nick Wheatley, Jack Hargreaves and Mark Prater (coach) have been selected in the national U23 team, while Alex Purnell, Frank Gourlas (coxswain), Holly Lawrence and Alistair Matthews (coach) will represent the Australian U21 team.

“The Sydney University Boat and Rowing Clubs are very pleased with the selection of a large number of athletes onto the Australian Team at all levels,” said Sydney University Boat Club (SUBC) Director of Rowing, Mark Prater.

“Special note should be made of Chris Cunningham-Reid and Cameron Girdlestone, who have been selected onto their first senior rowing team. For Cameron this comes seven years since his last representation and a number of setbacks. I am very pleased for Cameron and all of our Australian representatives.”

Of the 12 Sydney University athletes selected in various national teams, 11 are either current or former SUSF Elite Athlete Program (EAP) scholarship holders.

Current EAP scholarship holders include Sasha Belonogoff, Nick Purnell, Chris Cunningham-Reid, Alex Purnell and Holly Lawrence. Fergus Pragnell, Cameron Girdlestone, Ed de Carvalho, Sally Kehoe, Jack Hargreaves and Frank Gourlas are all former SUSF EAP scholarship holders.