Christmas comes early for Students

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Christmas comes early for Students

Sydney University Cricket Club went to the Christmas break leading the Club Championship and the First and Third competitions after a point-collecting Round 8 mission on Saturday.

Scott Henry continued a solid season to help First Grade to an 84-run win over Gordon at Sydney University No.1 Oval.

The NSW opener scored 57 of Sydney University’s 6-229 off 50 overs after the hosts had been sent in to bat in the first limited overs match of the 2013-14 season. He hit four boundaries and a six in his 87-ball stay, while No.4 Liam Robertson contributed 43 in a 55-ball stay.

Tim Ley (35 not out), David Miller (31) and Jonte Pattison (21 not out) also kept the scoreboard ticking over.

The Students rolled Gordon for 145 in 43.1 overs, with Robertson (2-4), Greg Mail (2-5) and Nigel Cowell (2-29) collecting the bulk of the wickets.

Sydney University lead the First Grade competition on 44 points, with Penrith (42), Randwick-Petersham (36), Mosman (34), Manly-Warringah (30) and Sydney (30) making up the top six.

Sydney University Seconds dropped to third on the competition ladder behind Gordon and Bankstown after losing to Gordon by eight wickets at Chatswood Oval on Saturday.

But Sydney University’s Third, Fourth and Fifth grades won their fixtures to help with the Club Championship, which Sydney University lead on 714 points from heel-nipping Sutherland on 704.

The story was not as rosy in the Poidevin-Gray Shield on Sunday, with Sydney University remaining at the bottom of the table after losing to St George by 75 runs at No.1 Oval.

The main competition will resume on January 11 with North Sydney Firsts hosting Sydney University Firsts at North Sydney Oval.




Sydney Men’s grade cricket competition – Round 8 (Limited Overs)


First Grade: Sydney University 6-229 off 50 overs (Scott Henry 57, Liam Robertson 43, David Miller 31, Jonte Pattison 21 not out; Joshua Poysden 2-39, Elliot Richter 2-41) d Gordon 145 off 43.1 overs (Harry Evans 41, Daniel Smith 29, Cameron Eccles 24, Chad Soper 24; Liam Robertson 2-4, Greg Mail 2-5, Nigel Cowell 2-29) by 84 runs at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Saturday. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Gordon 0.


Second Grade: Gordon 2-225 off 40.4 overs (Kris Colley (126 not out, Reece Bombas 53 not out; Tom Kierath 1-36) d Sydney University 221 off 48.4 overs (Ben Larkin 94, Adam Theobald 32, Steven Hobson 29; Anand Verma 3-27, Scott Heaney 2-36) by eight wickets at Chatswood Oval. Toss Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Gordon 6, Sydney University 0.


Third Grade: Sydney University 8-273 off 50 overs Joe Kershaw 68, Brendan Pryke 43, Charles Cull 40 not out; Adam Fleming 4-37) d Gordon 214 off 44.3 overs (Mark Atkinson 37, Shayne Lin 30, Liam McElduff 29, Andrew Crosland 29; Ronit Lotliker 3-50, Kerrod McPherson 2-12) by 59 runs at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Gordon 0.


Fourth Grade: Sydney University 195 off 47.5 overs (Alasdair Grant 40, Andrew Deveraj 32, Ryan Danne 30; Tim Fulton 4-38,  Patrick Effeney 3-31) d Gordon 162 off 38 overs (Darren Jayasekera 37, Robert Barker 30 not out, Thomas Beverley 26; William Clayton 3-23, Jonathon New 3-29) by 33 runs at Killara Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Gordon 0.


Fifth Grade: Sydney University 7-229 off 50 overs (Ben Mitchell 91, Alex Mihalyka 45; Matthew Keevers 2-31) d Gordon 190 off 46.2 overs (John O’Neill-Fuller 49, Thomas Carruthers 26, Stuart Bromley 25; Christopher Campbell 5-26, Peter Eakin 2-15) by 39 runs at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Sydney University. Points:   Sydney University 6, Gordon 0.


Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 5 (Limited Overs)


St George 7-293 off 50 overs (Kurtis Patterson 95, Brent Atherton 49, Corey Fogarty 42 Luke Bartier 33 not out; Lewis McMahon 2-40) d Sydney University 218 off 46.4 overs (Jack Holloway 67, Alex Logan 37, Darius Visser 29, Lewis McMahon 21, Kieran Tate 20 not out; Luke Bartier 2-25, Mitchell Edwards 2-35) by 75 runs at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Sunday. Toss: St George. Batted first: St George. Points: St George 6, Sydney University 0.