Roxsolt Sydney Uni win richest bike race in Australia

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Roxsolt Sydney Uni win richest bike race in Australia

The Roxsold Sydney Uni team has won Australia’s richest bike race, the 2013 Logie-Smith Lanyon Super Criterium in Melbourne.

After taking up co-naming rights on a women’s team last month, the Roxsold Sydney Uni raced aggressively from the start.

Gina Ricardo (SUVelo Racing) and Brittany Lindores (Bike Bug) controlling the first half of the race with constant attacks and had the field of nearly 60 elite women in single file.

The race featured five intermediate sprints and Chloe Hosking (Hitec Products) used the first sprint to test her legs and made the first deposit into the team’s prize pool in the process.

The constant high pace started taking a toll on many riders and the middle of the race saw the first retirements.

With 20 minutes remaining Ricardo dropped herself from the field with an average speed for 40 minutes of racing at around 45km per hour.

The last 20 minutes saw attacks from Total Rush and Boss Racing Team, however the ever attentive Sarah Roy (Bike Bug) ensured that the breakaway never gained more than 200 metres before being brought back.

With just three laps to go Roy brought Hosking to the front, avoided the bell lap crash at the front of the field just before the final corner and dropped Hosking off with 150 metres to go.

Hosking once again showed why she is the highest UCI ranked Australian woman in the world and delivered a convincing victory with two bike lengths to second placed current Australian Criterium Champion, Kimberly Wells, and third placed Wiggle Honda rider and current Australian MTB champion, Peta Mullens.

The event offered equal prize money for the elite men and women, and a total prize pool of $10,500 for the women’s race.

The Roxsold Sydney Uni team will next race the Bay Classic from Jan 2-5 in 2014.