Students push Marrickville to limit

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Students push Marrickville to limit

Sydney University were denied a history-making three titles in the Sydney Winter Baseball League at Petersham Oval on Sunday, when First Grade went down 5-3 to Marrickville in the grand final.

The Cynics pushed the might of Marrickville all afternoon before the minor premiers avenged their loss in the semi-final loss to take the 2013 title in the dying light. Sydney University last won the First Grade title in 1916.

Sydney University had already collected the Second Grade title, when the minor premiers scored a 2-1 win over Marrickville, and the Third Grade title with a 13-3 demolition of UNSW on Saturday. It was the first time the club had won dual premierships in the two lower grades.

And with three teams progressing to grand finals, Sydney University also secured their first Club Championship.

Sydney University also won the University Cup for 2013 with their 12-2 win over UNSW. The cup was inaugurated in 2005 for competition between the two institutions and is awarded annually on a best-of-three basis. UNSW won the Cup in the first year, but it has been held by Sydney University for the past seven years


Sydney Winter Baseball League – Grand Finals

First Grade: Marrickville 5 (002 100 200 5r 12h 0e) d Sydney University 2 (200 000 000 2r 3h 2e) at Petersham Oval on Sunday.

Second Grade: Sydney University 2 d Marrickville 1 at Petersham Oval on Sunday.

Third Grade: Sydney University 13 d UNSW 3 at Petersham Oval Saturday.